• TheNudieFoodies.com
  • Legalese

    Like my stuff? Hurray! Feel free to link to me. But let's talk before you borrow or reprint. You can contact me at oc2seattle@gmail.com. Creative Commons License
    OC2Seattle by OC2Seattle is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-No Derivative Works 3.0 United States License.

Guest Blog: Mrs. Cummings Gets You Going with Lemon Vodka Passionade

Please welcome Mrs. Cummings from Mrs. Cummings RX. She’s a University of Washington (Go Huskies!) Pharmacy student grad and serious DIYer (check out her stylish graduation invitations) who uses her chemistry know-how to whip up sassy cocktail creations and more. Check out her latest equation to add a little passion into your night.

Lemon Vodka Passionade

By: Jerika Cummings

 

I am Mrs. Cummings blogging over at Mrs. Cummings Rx where I write about my “prescriptions” for a happy life, mainly yummy cocktail recipes and crafty tutorials. 

Looking for a new summer drink recipe? Well you’ve come to the right place! This is one of my favorites and a proven crowd pleaser amongst my crew. So let me tell you about my Lemon Vodka Passionade!

I made up my first batch by mixing Tazo Passion Tea (Link to http://www.tazo.com) with lemon vodka. Then I decided to make my own “passion tea” from dried hibiscus flowers….either way this drink is easy to mix up in a large batch to keep those summer BBQs going all day long. – J

Here’s what you need:

For 1 cocktail:

  • 3oz passion tea
  • 1oz lemon juice
  • 1oz simple syrup
  • 2oz lemon vodka

For a 48oz pitcher:

  • 20oz passion tea
  • 7oz lemon juice
  • 7oz simple syrup
  • 14oz lemon vodka

Step 1: BREW

Tazo Passion Tea: Steep 1 Tazo Passion Tea Bag per 6oz boiling water for 3 minutes. (We are brewing it stronger since we will be adding other ingredients)

Homemade “Passion Tea”: Steep 1 tablespoon of dried hibiscus flowers and ½ tablespoon of dried orange peel in 6 oz of boiling water for 3 minutes.

Step 2: BLEND

Blend passion tea, lemon juice, simple syrup, and lemon vodka in a glass or pitcher of ice.

Step 3: GARNISH

Garnish with lemon wedge and festive cocktail pick, such as am umbrella or orange skewer. Or make your own Rosette Cocktail Fan!

This drink is definitely one of my favorites. The hibiscus flavor and lemon are tart but the simple syrup gives the drink a sweet finish. Lemon Vodka Passionade screams summer to me and I can’t wait til the sun finally comes out here in Seattle so I can sip one of these beauties while firing up the BBQ J Happy Summer!

For more summer drink ideas check out Mrs. Cummings Rx.

2 Responses

  1. I was totally addicted to the Tazo Passion Tea Lemonade last summer… so obviously, I am all over this alcoholic version like a fat kid on a smartie!
    I foresee many pitchers of these making an appearance at my summer BBQs this year. Awesome idea!

  2. […] Alright, lemme tell you about this sipping….The PERFECT drink for a sunny summery day like today and an awesome way to start your weekend A blend of hisbiscus and orange tea with lemon vodka, oh so refreshing! So what are you waiting for, see what you need to whip up my Lemon Vodka Passionade! […]

Comments are closed.