Apricot Bread with a Twist


I am not by nature a recipe developer. I’m much too afraid of screwing things up, especially in the precise realm of baking. But sometimes you have to dip into the buttery end of the baking dish.

A few weeks ago, I made a Sally Lunn style apricot bread for writing class. I wasn’t satisfied with the results. While it wasn’t bad, it wasn’t what I craved. It was too savory and too crumbly. I started scouring my baking books and after looking at many recipes decided I wasn’t going to get what I wanted unless I created the recipe myself. And so my foray into recipe development began.

After much research and tasting, the result was:

Apricot Bread with a Hint of Cardamom

  • 1 c. dried apricots, diced
  • 1 1/2 c. sugar
  • 2 1/2 c. flour
  • 1/2 c. unsalted butter (1 stick), melted
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1 tsp. salt
  • 1 tsp. baking soda
  • 1 1/2 tsp. vanilla
  • 1 tsp cardamom
  • 3/4 c. milk
  • Boil 2 c. water and add apricots to soak.

    Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

    In a large bowl add sugar and melted butter. Beat with a mixer on low until thoroughly combined and creamy.

    Add vanilla and eggs to sugar/butter mixture and mix together until well blended.

    Sift together remaining ingredients except the milk and slowly beat into sugar/butter mixture alternating flour mixture and milk.

    Thoroughly drain apricots and fold into batter. If too wet, add a bit more flour until mix is not runny but not too thick. It should be the consistency of banana bread batter or a rich overnight moisturizer.

    Spray a deep nonstick loaf pan with Pam. Pour batter in.

    Bake for 45 mins uncovered. Remove from oven and place a piece of foil over the edges of the bread so only the middle is exposed. See here for illustration. Put back in the oven and bake for another 15 minutes or until a toothpick through the middle comes out clean.

    Enjoy! When you try out this recipe, please let me know what you think.

    Happy Friday everyone!

    10 Responses

    1. My Indian dad loves caradmom and puts it in absolutely everything. This is a wonderful idea! I love the mixture of apricot and bread. Can’t wait to try this.

    2. They say attitude is everything and you certainly jumped into the experiment with the right one. The fact that is came out the way your were hoping makes it all the sweeter!

      Jason

    3. I adore apricot, and I imagine it tasted just wonderful with the cardamom. I’m so glad it is finally Friday. I hope you have a wonderful weekend of relaxation, love and laughter. Thank you for sharing, my friend!

    4. Cardamom and apricot is one of my favourite combinations… they really do pair well together! I’ve been craving a sweet loaf cake lately, and this sounds perfect.
      Looks like you’re off to a great start with recipe development. Be warned, creating your own recipes can get a little bit addictive… and more than a little fattening, too. šŸ™‚

    5. Heh, gravatar took my other profile and my prevous reply has my other self on it! lol Great recipe!

    6. Cardamom is an amazing flavor, and I bet it is superlative in this bread!

    7. You’re a natural! Love the hint of cardamom!

    8. Recipe inventing it tough, especially with baked goods! I’m more likely to make up a savory dish, easier to fix! The bread sounds wonderful!

    Comments are closed.

