Green Beans with Attitude

 

Done right, green beans are the perfect vegetable.  Crisp, flavorful, versatile.  Sautéed with butter and crumbled bacon, sautéed in olive oil and topped with parmesan, the options are endless.  The trick is not to overcook them.  I also like to add in a bit of a surprise to punch up the dish. 

Zesty Green Beans

Serves 2 but recipe is easily doubled and tripled

  • 20 Green Beans
  • 1 TBSP Olive Oil
  • 1-1 1/2 TBSP Garlic (amount depends on personal preference – I like a lot)
  • 1 TBSP + Lemon Juice (splash to taste)

Trim green beans and cut into bite-size pieces.

Add olive oil to medium frying pan and heat over medium-high heat.

When oil is hot, add green beans and sauté for 4 minutes.

Add garlic and sauté for 4-5 more minutes until green beans are cooked but still super crisp.

Splash in enough lemon juice so the green beans have a lemon zing but aren’t saturated.  Sauté additional minute.

I’ve served these with Christmas dinner, crab, chicken, steak, pork – they go with everything.  Who knew sneaking in veggies could be so easy?

9 Responses

  1. I agree – green beans are perfect, especially when fresh or just lightly sauteed! I just wish that I had some in the fridge right now…

  2. Love the attitude and love the dish!!!

  3. You had me with the title! I’m a green bean fan… this recipe is on point, simple and delicious.

  4. Green beans were just about the only veggies I liked as a kid and love them with garlic!

  5. Green beans are my fav .. check this dish of mine, you may like it too

    http://www.kankanasaxena.net/2011/01/24/green_beans_and_potato/

  6. I agree that green beans are pretty delicious (and given my history with veggies, that’s saying a lot!). Have you tried ’em “Chinese” style sauteed with chili/garlic sauce?

  7. Give me one helping of attitude with some green beans please!

Comments are closed.

