Comfort Food: Mom’s Rice

I lucked out in the mom department.  Not only did I get cake for breakfast, but candy and cookies in my lunch.  When I was sick Mom spoiled me with a “couch bed”, chicken noodle soup, 7-up and all the television I could stand (our tv hours were usually fairly restricted).

Certain foods remind me of my Mom and their very aroma is as comforting as her embrace was when I scraped my knee or had a bad day at school.  My Mom’s baked rice is one of those foods.  Simple, uncomplicated comfort with a subtle twist that makes this rice the favorite of Jim and many friends.

Mom’s Rice

  • 2 c. water
  • 2 beef bouillon cubes
  • 1/2 onion (I prefer Walla Walla Sweets but any kind will do)
  • 1 c. brown or white rice
  • 1 TBSP butter (optional)
  • Salt and Pepper to taste (I use pepper only)
  • Add bouillon cubes to boiling water and let dissolve (if you’re impatient, stirring with a fork speeds up the process. 

    In a covered baking or casserole dish combine the water, bouillon infused water and onion.  Add butter if desired. 

    Bake, covered, at 400 degrees for 45 minutes.

    I like to serve Mom’s rice with my zesty green beans (recipe in an upcoming post) and Cooking Light’s  pan-roasted chicken with a French mustard-cream sauce (in photo above) or a thick juicy steak.

    8 Responses

    1. I always thought I didn’t like rice, because my mom only made plain white rice and expected us to eat it the way she liked it: with butter, cinnamon, and sugar.

      In my “old age” I’ve learned I don’t like to mix sweet and savory much … and brown rice is king when it comes to flavor!

      My mom did make many wonderful things. Her potato soup is killer. 🙂

    2. There is something about Moms and Rice. My mom makes the best rice too. Thanks for always making me smile with your words, photos and recipes. I hope that your Wednesday is full of joy!

    3. A little starch and a little protein makes me a happy eater 😉

    4. I wish I was spoiled like this!! Looks so comforting.

    5. I am always on the lookout for good rice recipes – my family is tired of my half-ass attempts at making rice pilaf with veggie stock! Thank you, and your mom, for this recipe. I am going to give it a try!

    6. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by trolllordgames, SUPERBETCH and Tim Burns, oc2seattle. oc2seattle said: Comfort Food: Mom's Rice http://wp.me/pBzPT-MZ […]

    Comments are closed.

