Happy Holidays

Dear Family and Friends:

I can’t believe it’s nearly 2011! This year has rushed by like a hurricane in Haiti.

We started off the year with a trip to Vancouver for the Winter Olympics. We had to move on after only a week, however, due to the fact that Michael Buble would not stop stalking me. Sigh . . what can you do?

Work is proceeding as planned. Jim was promoted to dictator-on-high and my aspirations to royalty were realized in the Queen Mary tea room, where I was crowned. Clearly, these people know a princess when they see one.

Our lifestyle just doesn’t lend itself to pets, yet, in addition to the raccoons who visit us primarily to procreate under our deck, we were adopted by two cats and Mickey. We only had Mickey for a short time as he tangled with the cats and lost. Poor, Mickey. He’s lying in state on the neighbor’s roof and we pay tribute to him by peeking out the window each morning.

Little Jimmy, our imaginary child, was accepted into Harvard this year. As he’s 12, not 10, we are very disappointed. Another family failure. The blow was softened a bit when certain committee members saw him on Fox and Friends and heard of his ideas for bringing peace to war-torn Watts. We hear he’s on the shortlist for the Nobel Peace Prize for what he might, perhaps, someday, possibly, if-all-the-planets-are aligned do.

We wish you the best for 2011 and hope that you have a wonderful and prosperous year, but not as wonderful and prosperous as ours.

Merry Christmas.

4 Responses

  1. That was funny. Too bad your faux son is such a failure. Time to invest in tutors

  2. I wish you the Merriest Christmas! I’m so glad that I found you and your blog this year. Thank you for always infusing my days with such great eats, sweet words and thoughtful comments….I’m thankful for you!

  3. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Joan Nova, SarahInSeattle and SarahInSeattle. SarahInSeattle said: Happy Holidays: http://wp.me/pBzPT-Lj […]

  4. I am laughing so hard I am crying…what a perfect family newsletter. I had a friend who reveled in her annual letters, while I attended many of the events she spoke of I was always amazed at how much better they sounded than I remembered.
    Lets hope this next year is a good one for all of us!
    Buon Natale
    Dennis

Comments are closed.

