Food Bloggers Changing the World: Ancient Fire Wines

Jason Phelps was only 29 years old when he was diagnosed with cancer.

He recovered. But many friends he made during his treatment and recovery and in the years since, didn’t. Believing not enough resources were being directed at cancer, he decided to do something about it and started fundraising.

In 2004, Jason made 120 apple pies by hand and sold them to raise money for the Lance Armstrong Foundation. He sold out and raised $2,400. In 2005, he had to impose a limit on the number of pie orders he could take because the demand was just too much for a solo baker.

Jason also directed his fund-raising efforts toward the American Cancer Society through Relay for Life. In only a few years, Jason and his New Hampshire Relay for Life Team have raised $72,000. They are the team to beat in fundraising dollars year in and year out – a fact that inspires plenty of friendly competition yielding more and more dollars to fund the fight against cancer.

Jason fundraises both through traditional ask and you shall receive means and nontraditional means. He utilizes his culinary and wine making passions through events such as chocolate parties and wine tasting fundraisers. He raises awareness by recounting these events on his blog Ancient Fire Wine Blog.

Jason’s commitment to the fight against cancer is impressive. His enthusiasm is just plain contagious. But it’s his motivation that really put things in perspective for me when I talked to him. When I asked him what motivated him, he said simply “I’m living in the bonus round.” Enough said.

Please help Jason in his fight against cancer by donating to his Relay for Life Team.  Just click here.

10 Responses

  1. I’m another Jason/Ancient Fire Wines fan. How he’s chosen to live his life is inspiring and full of all the things that count. I lost my father to cancer and one of my closest friends lost her husband to melanoma when she was 5 months pregnant. Efforts by people like Jason seem to ease the sting.

  2. Such an amazing story and person. I love his blog!

  3. What an incredible story, Jason! $72,000?!?!?! How remarkable! Not that we needed another reason to love you, but this is just so so wonderful.

  4. Thanks everyone. Wow!

    It’s hard to explain how much emotion gets stirred up each year when we get to work with our team for the Relay For Life. Last year the event planners asked me to be the survivor speaker at the opening ceremony of the event. I had promised my team earlier in the year that if we raised $10K+ again this year I would shave my head. I couldn’t help but get choked up (and I am now) when I got to take my hat off in front of 750 people and tell them that the best reason I could think of to shave my head was because I could. Living well was my theme and the thunder of applause when I said “you don’t have to be a cancer survivor to experience this, you just have to be here” was truly humbling. Our event went on to be 15th in the top 25 of the entire New England region for 2010, an honor well deserved by all of the hard working teams that raised $215,000 from a few small towns in Southern New Hampshire.

    Cancer sucks so we FIGHT BACK!

    Jason

  5. We love Jason around here, and here’s just one more reason why. Thanks for pointing out one outstanding citizen of the world.

  6. I am a regular reader of Jason’s blog and as a cancer survivor myself, I can really appreciate his dedication. He is an inspiration to a lot of people.

  7. Jason is an incredible guy. I love his comment that he’s living in the bonus round. His enthusiasm for life is infectious. If more folks had Jason’s attitude toward life and caring personality, the world would be a far better place. We’re lucky to have him in our lives!

  8. What a wonderful story. I’m a reader of Jason’s blog and he is an amazing person.

    Thank you for sharing this information and reminding us that there are many people in need in more ways than we realize.

  9. Wow! What an inspirational story. I’m so glad that you took the time to tell me about this brave and giving man. We all need to be reminded to give back during this season of consumption. Thank you for sharing this with me. I hope you have a weekend full of relaxation and fun!

  10. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Jason Phelps, Jason Phelps, Raghav Kher & Crew, Jason Phelps, Jason Phelps and others. Jason Phelps said: Have to brag. This is me fighting cancer!!! RT Food Bloggers Changing the World: Ancient Fire Wines: http://wp.me/pBzPT-KS @ancientfirewine […]

Comments are closed.

