Dirty Little (Foodie) Secrets

Forget the confessions.  It’s Friday and I’m feeling generous because I have to work all weekend and if I can’t have a good time someone else should.  So I’m gifting you with  insight – things you could only figure out by careful observation of me for days, months, years even

Without further ado, here are some of my dirty little secrets.

  • I find Hot Tamales irresistible.  Put that siren red box in front of me at a checkout line and you will get my money every time.  I’ve even been  known to stalk people eating those red-hot wonders at sporting events until I find which concession stand is holding the hotness hostage.
  • I sometimes crave Marie Calendar’s chicken pot pies – the frozen ones.  The calories and fat counts keep me pining in the freezer aisle.
  • My true Achilles heel are potato chips.  Leave a bag of KC Masterpiece in my vicinity and that bag will be dust in 10 minutes flat.  As a result, you will rarely find a chip in our house.  That temptation stays at the store where it belongs.
  • Sometimes two Jack in the Box tacos and a chocolate shake is a perfect meal.  The greasier the tacos, the better.
  • I think In-n-Out is way better than Dick’s. 
  • I think there needs to be a cook book called “Fat Man in the Kitchen” – because I would totally buy it, for the title alone.
  • I have trouble trusting skinny chefs . . .

And with that, I’m off to a weekend of avoiding the Seattle lynch mob that is no doubt forming over my Dick’s denigration and to prep for trial.  Have a fabulous food-filled weekend 😉

8 Responses

  1. Replace the Hot tamales with Good n Plenty; the JIB tacos with the mini sirloin sliders; salt & vinegar vs bbq chips; and how do you walk away from the pot pies ! I’m still laughing

  2. you are too funny…but I am not changing the name of my cookbook!!! who knows I may get skinny some day!
    I love BBQ chips but the new really crunchy ones are ones I crave and my wife hates them….so guess what we never buy….sigh
    hope your weekend is full of hot tamales!
    Cheers
    Dennis

  3. Potato chips…I wish I didn’t a stash under the cupboard, but I do!

  4. LOL – love the skinny chef thing 🙂 My problem is that i can not walk past an ice cream store. In Seattle i don’t know have that problem since ice cream sucks but anywhere else i will walk into every ice cream store possible. In the Supermarket i don’t go to the freezer section just for this reason, or somehow i will end up with ice cream in my cart. Nice to find another Seattle foodie.

  5. Dick’s is fine for late-night, post-drinking eating, but if I want a burger, it’s not the place I go. And I sort of think your comparing them is moot – we don’t have an In-n-Out here, so it’s not like we could choose it if we wanted to. Jus’ sayin.
    I have lots of dirty little secrets too, but now that I look at your list, I realize that none of us have any secrets that are particularly unusual. 🙂

    • Where do you go? Don’t hold out on me! Excellent point re In-n-Out, I think we need to start a movement to bring it to Washington although I’m hearing White Castle may be even better 😉

  6. Smile. Great food confessions. I stood outside my grocer’s freezer for about 5 minutes yesterday, admiring all the frozen food myself! Thank you for sharing! I hope you have a wonderful weekend.

  7. hot tomales…when I go to the movie theater I resist buying them but crave them soooo bad. it’s a hang over from childhood!

    I also feel compelled to purchase a fresh baked cookie any time i walk in to a whole foods.

Comments are closed.

