Guilt-free Banana Bread


Sometimes you need a quick sweet bread. Whether it be for brunch, Christmas morning breakfast or just because, I turn to banana bread. But not just any banana bread. My modified version has all the indulgent taste of sinfully, buttery moist banana bread, with none of the guilt.

Guilt-Free Banana Bread
1 1/4 c. sugar
1/4 c. butter (melted)
1 jar baby food bananas
1 egg
2 egg whites
2 medium bananas
1/2 c. nonfat milk
1 1/4 tsp. vanilla
1 tsp baking soda
1 tsp salt
2 1/2 c. all-purpose flour

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Grease a 9×5 loaf pan with cooking spray.

Mix sugar and melted butter on a low-speed. Add egg and egg whites until well blended.

Add bananas, milk, vanilla, baking soda and salt. Beat until smooth. Gradually add in flour and beat until mixed.

Pour batter into loaf pan. Bake in oven for 45 mins. At 45 minutes, cover with aluminum foil with a hole in the middle like this:

Put back in the oven and bake an additional 30 minutes or until a toothpick inserted in the middle comes out clean.

Cool on a wire rack in the pan for 10 minutes. Remove from pan and cool for an additional 30 minutes – if you can wait that long πŸ˜‰

12 Responses

  1. […] from oven and place a piece of foil over the edges of the bread so only the middle is exposed. See here for illustration. Put back in the oven and bake for another 15 minutes or until a toothpick through […]

  2. It’s remarkable how everyone does it a little differently.

  3. This is making me hungry.

  4. Wonderful looking loaf of bread here!

  5. Guilt free sweets are the best! But only if they taste like the real thing. I’ve never baked with baby food before but it sounds like a fabulous idea!

  6. I love this! I would never have thought of using baby food bananas, but it is such a good idea! My baking world is expanding now….baby food sweet potatoes, bananas…Thank you for sharing with me. I hope you are having a joy-filled afternoon!

  7. Looks so good. Yum. There would be a lot of guilt though because I would plough thorugh it in one sitting

  8. Sounds delicious! I think we could all use a guilt-free treat after the holiday πŸ™‚ I will have to try this out!

  9. I’m all for guilt free food, I guess that means I could eat the whole loaf…..sigh….it does look very very good!
    Cheers
    Dennis

  10. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Laura West, SarahInSeattle. SarahInSeattle said: Guilt-free Banana Bread: http://wp.me/pBzPT-JN […]

  11. Oh, Marcy! This banana bread looks absolutely splendid… and easy! I’m definitely going to try this recipe on my next run of black bananas πŸ™‚ Hope all’s well in Seattle! We’ve got cold temps and dry winds here in OC 😦

Comments are closed.

