Join Me Saturday November 20 at Will Bake For Food

If you’re in Seattle on Saturday, November 20th, you can get your hands and mouths on 60 types of tasty treats made by Northwest food bloggers.  Jenny Miller of Rainy Day Gal and Jenny Richards of Purple House Dirt have organized an epic bake sale – aptly named Will Bake for Food – to benefit Northwest Harvest. 

The Inspiration

On a cold day in September, Jenny Miller was driving back from the grocery store when she came to a red light and saw a woman begging with her two small children.  “As I was sitting in my warm car with my daughter and a month’s worth of diapers and food in the back, it was heart breaking” Miller told me.    She started thinking about what she could do to help.  As a food blogger, Miller thought of the food blogging community and what would inspire them.  A bake sale benefitting Northwest Harvest seemed like a perfect fit and Will Bake for Food was born. 

The response from the food blogging world was instantaneous and overwhelming.  So much so that Miller and Richards actually had to turn bakers away once the volunteer baking number hit 60.  Now the success of Will Bake for Food depends on the public turnout.  If successful, Miller and Richards are committed to making it a yearly event.

The Cause

Northwest Harvest supplies over 300 food banks and food programs across the state of Washington.  93% of its budget goes directly to food distribution.  It’s mission is “to provide nutritious food to hungry people statewide in a manner that respects their dignity, while fighting to eliminate hunger.”

The Bake “Sale”

Here’s how it works:  You bring non-perishable food items or a monetary donation and an appetite.  In exchange for your donations, you receive tickets that can be used to grab some 100% homemade and donated baked goodies, coffee and cider.  Simple.  For a list of the items Northwest Harvest needs most, click here.

I’m baking my cranberry-chocolate chip cookies to give away and Jim and I loaded up a box full of peanut butter, pasta, soup, and other staples to donate because I can’t wait to try out everyone’s treats.  I’ve heard molecular gastronomy will be employed by some and there will be plenty of gluten-free goodies as well.  Plus, with so many food bloggers involved it promises to be a fun event.

When and Where

University Congregational Church
Ostrander Hall
4515 16th Ave. NE
Seattle, WA 98105

Saturday, November 20, 2010.  10 a.m. – 2:00 p.m. or until all the goodies are gobbled.

Hope to see you there!

6 Responses

  1. Wish I knew about this earlier. Hope you had a good time 🙂

  2. What a wonderful cause! I wish I lived closer. Thank you for sharing…I hope that your Thursday is beautiful.

  3. love those cookies. so sad I cannot make it

  4. Oh My Gosh, this is awesome! I will be there with a box of goodies to donate!

Comments are closed.

