The Danger of the Fun Size Candy Bar

The Halloween Hangover
We bought too much Halloween candy, again.

The trouble began when Jim bought a bag of Tootsie Rolls and a bag of “fun size” Baby Ruths and promptly ate 3/4 of each before Halloween. While we’re lucky to get 6 or 7 trick or treaters at our door, staring at 22 mini candy offerings barely covering the bottom inch of our Halloween cauldron inspired visions of the Grinch. “We need more candy” I said.

Jim obtained 1 bag of “fun size” Almond Joys and 1 of York Peppermint Patties, filling the cauldron to a respectable level. And then we waited. And waited. And WAITED.

At 6:15 the doorbell rang and I pulled open the door to reveal a fireman, a dog that could only be named Spot, Darth Vader, and two pint size Disney Princesses. I encouraged each to take a handful of candy from the cauldron. And then we waited. And waited. And WAITED.

After an hour passed with nary a whisper of a ghoul, goblin, or Hannah Montana in sight, I realized that the earlier gathering represented every child that lived within a two-block radius of our home and I closed up shop.

The cauldron looked suspiciously full, as if the candy had multiplied while our backs were turned. To prevent further procreation, I transferred the candy into an air-tight gallon Ziploc bag. It filled it.

Why is it that mini and “fun-size” candies increase our capacity for eating them? I would never – well not since college – eat two full-size candy bars, but I can handily put away 4 mini Almond Joys, 2 “fun size” Baby Ruths, 1 Tootsie Roll and a York Peppermint Patty. Jim, who can even turn down a Dick’s Drive-in indulgence, was comatose and surrounded by mini candy wrappers when I arrived home from class last night. A friend, admitted to dining on them for breakfast.

What is the power of the mini candy to zap our self-control?

I don’t know the answer, but I’m dreaming of the day when the candy is gone, and naturally, doing my part to make sure that day arrives soon šŸ˜‰
Bookmark and Share

5 Responses

  1. We don’t buy candy for that reason! And we live in a college neighborhood, so we get no trick or treaters (which is kind of sad!) I hope you have a beautiful Friday love!

    • So smart! Hope you have a fabulous Friday too. I’m heading off to the Foodbuzz Festival in the a.m. so it promises to be a food filled and fun weekend šŸ™‚

  2. So right, we have a lot of left over trick or treat candy also, and the “Fun Size” is so funny how they come up with this stuff. Sending all our candy to school and work! Like everyone else!

  3. oh my you are soooo right! I would never go to a vending machine and buy a full candy bar, but they have bowls of little chocolates at the office and I’d take a couple here…a couple there.. eeik!

    kinda glad we don’t have trick or treaters in the high rise so I didn’t have to buy candy. but I miss the cute little costumes.

Comments are closed.

