Confession: I’m an Aspiring Writer, a Blogger and a . . .

Last month, Foodbuzz’s “Project Food Buzz” competition launched and I threw my hat into the ring. It was thrown back to me in Round 1.

Entering the competition, however, encouraged me to apply to the University of Washington Nonfiction Writing Certificate Program and I was booted from Project Food Buzz and accepted by UW almost simultaneously. For the first time in twelve years, I’m a student – this time, a working one. Between work – which is exploding at the moment – and class, I’m reading and writing constantly – but, ironically, not here. Fusion seems to be in order.

The following is my first writing assignment – a bio of myself told in the third person. In it, my day job is finally revealed. Did you already guess?

Her friends describe Sarah as insatiably curious; always exploring new issues, theories, places and experiences; a book in one hand, a camera in the other. Sarah responds to such comments with a smile and dismissive shrug, saying “I’m just restless.”

Curiosity created an avid reader, a child that read by her nightlight long after she was supposed to be asleep. It lead her into a flirtation with the stage, television and film worlds, so she could play make-believe on a larger scale.

Raised by parents that repeatedly told her she could accomplish anything, she wryly notes that she was not-so-subtly instructed that anything meant being “a lawyer, doctor, or Indian Chief.” And so, after graduating from the University of California, Santa Barbara with a degree in English, and obtaining a coveted Screen Actor’s Guild membership, acting was abandoned for law school and the lawyer she became.
Her theater background and family legacy drove her to business litigation, a field she found “tedious with flashes of excitement and intellectual stimulation” and surprisingly little time in an actual courtroom. Her restlessness increased.

That restlessness took her to Paris, London, Italy, Spain, India and in and out of the cities of the U.S. It inspired her to research other cultures’ lifestyle and health habits, dabble in cooking and dive into the food and wine world. She quickly became a “conflicted foodie” and obsessively pondered whether a person who has a love-affair with cheese and detests the gym could be thin and healthy without exercise, bulimia or starvation. That question, coupled with a desire to help others, led Sarah and her friend, Jennifer, to develop the soon-to-be launched Foodies by Foot, a food and lifestyle blog that claims you can eat dessert and wear skinny jeans – no miracle genetics required.

11 Responses

  1. Ooooh! This sounds fun. I’ve never done writers workshops, but the last class I took was “improvisation for business people.” Ironically, it was held at Fort Mason, where the Street Food Fare was held tonight!

    I am totally elated to be on the receiving end of the cherry pancake/waffle mix! And that chunky cherry nut mix will be gone practically before I open it. Thank you for all of the wonderful Seattle treats 🙂

  2. It is fascinating to see the different paths that brought us here.

  3. Very interesting. I love learning more about Foodbuzzers. Congrats on the writing program. I got booted in PFB round 1 as well, but I have some many other things going on I didn’t think about it much.

    Jason

  4. Good luck!

  5. congrats!! and good luck , i m sure u ll do great..

  6. Wow! I’m so excited about your program! I know it is going to do great things for you…because you already have such writing talent! I loved reading about you in the third person…and I’m so excited to hear more about your new blog venture. It sounds great.

  7. how exciting and congrats on taking the leap!!!

    love the write up, we have a lot in common with our up bringing

    • Thanks all for your encouragement. I haven’t thought about “sharpening the saw” and Covey in a while, Ryan. Amanda – similar upbringing – oh no! 😉

  8. This is a great thing you’ve written, Sarah! You’re going to do fantastic and I can’t wait to read more. Keep up the juggling!

  9. Ah ha! The truth be told! Hey sounds like a great plan, going back to school, learning, training, etc… is always a great thing! I like how Stephen Covey calls it “sharpening the saw” And your new blog venture sounds exciting too!

    Bon appetit!
    CCR
    =:~)

  10. Congrats on the nonfiction program! From the sounds of your writing, you’ll do great. Good luck!

Comments are closed.

