Salad Pizza? and Giveaway

A few weeks ago, I, like many other Foodbuzz publishers, received an email from Foodbuzz and Fresh Express requesting proposals for ways to use Fresh Express salads.  Buried in work at the time, I fired a rapid response – “salad pizzas.” 

I never thought Fresh Express would actually take me up on my insane idea.  When a letter arrived stuffed with coupons for free Fresh Express salad kits I was surprised and a bit concerned since I had never made pizzas before.  Conquering my shock, I mentally proclaimed “Game on.”

I devised two salad pizzas, chicken caesar salad and spinach, pear, gorgonzola and walnut.  I also devised two back-up pizzas -Margarita and sausage and broccolini –  just in case the salad pizzas were a disaster.  Jim and his daughter Lauren and friends Marjorie and Tim were recruited to taste the creations.  Marjorie and Tim even contributed a secret weapon – their thin pizza crust.  

Sunday night, with the toppings and pizza crust ready and glasses of wine in hand, we began our salad pizza experiment. 

Step 1:  heat oven to 550 and warm up pizza stone (about 30 minutes). 

Step 2: roll out the pizza crust.

Step 3: Brush with olive oil.  We used a spectacular Italian extra virgin olive oil that Marjorie and Tim gave us.

Chicken Caesar Salad Pizza

  • Fresh Express Chicken Caesar Salad Kit  
  • Olive Oil
  • Pizza Crust
  • Parchment Paper

1.  Roll out the pizza dough, place on parchment paper and brush with olive oil (if using pre-made dough, just brush with olive oil).

2.  Mix the grilled chicken and 1/2 the dressing from the Fresh Express Chicken Caesar Salad Kit and place evenly on your pizza crust.

3.  Sprinkle on the cheese from the Fresh Express Chicken Caesar Salad Kit.  We really like cheese, so we added some torn provolone as well.

4.  Move parchment paper and crust onto pizza stone in oven and bake (baking time depends on crust, start with 10 minutes and then check in 2 minute intervals).

5.  Mix up the remaining dressing and enough of the lettuce mix from the Fresh Express Chicken Caesar Salad Kit to cover the entire pizza. 

6.  When the pizza is cooked, take it out of the oven and place the lettuce mixture evenly on the pizza.

Chicken Caesar Salad Pizza

I would be lying if I said we didn’t all harbor serious doubts about how our Chicken Caesar Salad Pizza would taste.  But one bite in, we knew the pizza was a success.  Warm chicken tucked in caesar-flavored melted cheese, offset by crunchy, crisp romaine.  It lit up our taste buds!

With one success in hand we moved onto our second salad pizza.

Spinach, Pear, Gorgonzola and Walnut Salad Pizza

  • Fresh Express Baby Spinach
  • One ripe pear, thinly sliced and peeled
  • 1/4 – 1/3 c. Gorgonzola, crumbled
  • 1/4 c. walnuts, chopped
  • Pizza crust
  • Olive Oil

 

1.  Roll out the pizza dough, place on parchment paper and brush with olive oil (if using pre-made dough, just brush with olive oil).

2.  Cover the pizza crust with a single layer of thinly-sliced, peeled pear.

3.  Sprinkle on the gorgonzola and walnuts.

4.  Move parchment paper and crust onto pizza stone in oven and bake (baking time depends on crust, start with 10 minutes and then check in 2 minute intervals).

5.  Heat up 1 tbsp of olive oil until hot. 

6.  Once hot, mix the olive oil with enough Fresh Express baby spinach to cover the entire pizza (this will wilt the spinach). 

7.  When the pizza is cooked, take it out of the oven and place the baby spinach mixture evenly on the pizza.

The pears made this a perfect dessert pizza.  The wilted spinach and gorgonzola made the pizza decadent.  Two for two, our salad pizza experiment was a resounding success.  So resounding, that a giveaway is in order.

Thanks to Fresh Express you can try out these or other salad creations yourself for free.   To enter: just tweet this post and leave me a comment below.  2 randomly selected winners will receive 3 coupons each for free Fresh Express Salad Kits.
Bookmark and Share

10 Responses

  1. I love salad pizza! Great idea… looks tasty 🙂

  2. This looks great Sarah! My kind of pizza!

  3. This sounds perfect! I always order a big salad when we buy pizza, and I usually end up alternating bites of salad and pizza. This saves that hassle! Thank you for sharing. I’m always looking for creative pizza ideas.

  4. Very ingenious and tasty too. We are on a kick of bacon and pickle pizza right now. We use homemade pickles from the summer and it is out of sight. I’ll have to try an slip in a salad pizza and see how the crowd likes it.

    Jason

  5. I love your creations – what a great idea! Pears and gorgonzola are so yummy together 🙂

  6. whhhhat you never made pizza?! I haven’t but that’s expected, you are such a great cook though I just figured you would have.

    tweeting now

    • I’m actually just really good at getting people to cook for me 😉 Now that I have Tim’s starter for his thin pizza crust, I’m going to be making pizzas a lot more!

  7. Fantastic twist! It needs some big Parmesan flakes though!

  8. These look delicious! And the pizzas have salad on ’em so they qualify as health food, right? 🙂

Comments are closed.

