Let’s Talk About Jimmy John’s – Sandwiches that is

The "Big John"

When I run out of leftovers to reheat for lunch or I’m just in the mood for something else, I find myself turning to Jimmy John’s Gourmet Sandwiches.  Missing from Southern California, Jimmy John’s are omnipresent in Seattle and one is  located kitty corner to my office building – how convenient.

Jimmy John’s puts other sandwich shop chains to shame, in my humble opinion.  First, their sandwich rolls just rock.  Yes, they’re white, yes, the nutritional content is probably not high, but they have the perfect balance of structure and squish that true hoagie-style deli sandwiches require.  Their sandwiches, made fast and furious while you wait, taste very fresh.  The shaved slices of meat they use is similar to that you would buy at your favorite deli, not from a supermarket package.  The lettuce is crisp.  The tomatoes are not soggy.  The onions taste as if they just came off the knife.  This is how sandwiches are meant to be.

Are visions of calorie laden fairies dancing through your head?  Fear not!  Jimmy John’s sandwiches actually fair well in the calorie counting world.

My favorite – the “Big John, ” is an 8 inch sandwich that consists of that heavenly roll, topped with savory roast beef, crisp, juicy tomatoes, and fresh lettuce.  With mayo it’s 533 calories and 24 grams of fat. Swap that mayo for mustard, however, and it drastically drops to 348 calories and 3.47 grams of fat – diet food in my book – not to mention 25 grams of anemia-fighting iron-rich protein 😉

For the carb conscious, grab a unwich” – your choice of sandwich wrapped in lettuce.

For the vegetarian, how about a Gourmet Veggie Club or a Veggie sandwich stuffed with sprouts, cucumbers, tomatoes, lettuce, avocado spread and provolone cheese?

Can’t leave your desk?  Jimmy John’s will deliver a single sandwich – fee free.  I always walk though, it may not be far, but I like to imagine I’m pre-burning some of my sandwich calories 😉

What’s your favorite place to grab a quick workday lunch?

Bookmark and Share

4 Responses

  1. So hungry now.

  2. So, it’s really lame and sad that my favorite place for a quick lunch is over 1,000 miles from where I live. We go to Boulder, CO about 2 a year to visit family, and there is a sandwich place there called “Snarfs”, and I’m completely obsessed with their sandwiches. We usually go there at least twice on any given visit.
    Oh, now I’m totally depressed because I won’t get a Snarfs sandwich for at least another few months!

    • Too funny! I know how that is though, I’m totally obsessed with non-tart frozen yogurt when I go to California now because all Seattle seems to have is the tart kind – and I never even used to like frozen yogurt much!

  3. I love popping into Whole Foods here in Austin. We have the flagship store, so they have so many options for us….great salad bars, hot food bars, taco bar, pizza bar…the list could go on and on! But I have been a fan of Jimmy John’s for a number of years, so I agree that they are a great place to grab a quick lunch!

Comments are closed.

