Deep-Fried Twinkie Virgin No More

My sister has been “encouraging” (harassing) me to try frying something – anything, for the past few weeks.  She even went so far as to threaten to get me a deep-fryer for my birthday (I dissuaded her by pointing out that I already have a kitchen full to bursting with kitchen gadgets). 

Finally, she challenged me to deep-fry a Twinkie . . . on video.  I don’t know about you, but I’ve always secretly liked Twinkies – although I haven’t had one for years – so deep-frying one was one challenge I couldn’t refuse.

That night after tennis class, I stopped by the grocery store to procure a candy thermometer and some Twinkies.  I didn’t miss the irony of someone in a tennis skirt and togs buying Twinkies, but I was surprised at how embarrassed I was to be buying them.  I mean, I’m the girl who buys eggs from the Farmer’s market, mostly organic produce and chicken and always, always, has a reusable grocery bag on hand.  Now, here I was buying a product so artificial it can survive nuclear fallout and no reusable shopping bag in sight!  

So what did I do?  I kept my head down and hustled out of that store with my eco-unfriendly plastic bag and overly processed snacks clutched in my hand. 

And it was so worth it.   Without further ado, I give you, Deep-Fried Twinkies:

 

I apologize for the quality of the video, something happened when it uploaded onto YouTube – it’s much clearer on my computer. . .  sigh.

A special thanks to Eric at www.ericriveracooks.com for telling me:

1.  The sweet spot for deep-frying: 350-360 degrees; and

2.  To toss out my recipe which included scary things like mixing vinegar and milk and to just go for the basics: eggs and flour mixed with powdered sugar.

Thanks also, to my trusty videographer, Jim, and of course my sister Jen for issuing this challenge on the eve of my XX year birthday 😉
Bookmark and Share

7 Responses

  1. gonna send this to my mom

  2. I’m a little afraid of deep fried twinkies, to be honest. I think I’d be addicted too easily…It could definitely be dangerous!

  3. Impressive! Deep fried Twinkies…or anything are good!

  4. Looks Good! I am going to try it. I like that you made it easy for a non cook like me. Thinking you may want that fryer? Christmas is coming up you know

  5. You did take the plunge! I want to try deep-fried strawberry shortcake…my friend had it at a fair this summer, and she couldn’t get enough of it! Great video too! You are adorable!

  6. Wow, you took the plunge huh! We ate some of that fried assortment of sweets at the NC State Fair several years ago. I hear there are folks deep frying hamburgers now!

Comments are closed.

