Project Food Blog: Star Quality

Often I find myself engaging in a challenge just because it’s staring me in the face and something rattling around in my subconscious quietly, politely, and with love screams “JUST DO IT, ALREADY!  What have you got to lose?  Get over yourself!  Sheesh.”   (Oh, Nike you have invaded the popular psyche and my own – P.S. love your tennis skirts, could you maybe stop playing hard to get and actually sell them in all of your stores?  Just asking.)  

Obviously, such mild self-encouragement made me think, “You know, I should enter Project Food Blog.”   And so, here we are, Project Food BlogChallenge No. 1.  This first challenge narrows a field of 1843 to 400 (gulp) and the list of who will advance to the next challenge will be posted on September 24 – my birthday.  (Let’s make it a good one people, voting opens Sept. 20 – check out my profile here and vote here). 

In an interview-questions-you-hate-style, the first challenge requires an answer to the questions: “What defines you as a food blogger and why should you be the next food blog star?”  (My most hated interview question:  “Where do you see yourself in 5 years?”  Because, I’m pretty sure, “In your job” is not the right answer.)

Defining Me (as a food blogger)

What I am:

  • In love with food, especially the consumption of it.
  • A believer that butter makes everything better, but sometimes you have to use Pam so you can still fit in your favorite jeans.   
  • Someone who loves to eat out, a lot, and share restaurant, patisserie, and taco truck finds with others.

  • A hostess.  Give me people wanting to be fed and I will concoct a night to remember.  Menu planning, table setting, cooking and baking, it’s my favorite form of relaxation (but can someone else clean up when I’m finished, please).

Christmas Dinner at Chez OC2Seattle

  • A traveling foodie.  Whether you call it wanderlust or restlessness, it gets me out-of-town and around the world which means one week I could be posting at home in Seattle, the next in Southern California, and the next in Paris or Vancouver or even from the Indy 500.  You just never know.   

At L'AS Du Fallafel in Paris

  • A writer at heart.   

Why I Should Be the Next Food Blog Star

  • Star Quality, baby.  As a member of Screen Actor’s Guild, I even have some credentials to back up that audacious claim 😉

  • I face the same struggles as most.  I work, a lot.  I travel for work.  I care about my health and my weight.  But I’m also really into food and entertaining.  As a result, I’m constantly on the lookout for ways to put healthy, fresh, fabulous low-cal meals on the table quickly, places to eat out when I feel like a treat, places that leave me satisfied without making my scale screech, and recipes that make my guests feel welcome and pampered.  The whole world of food is of interest to me and I explore every nook and cranny.
  • Curiosity – it may have killed the cat, but it makes for a better blogger.
  • And last, but not least, I would really like to be

Bookmark and Share

22 Responses

  1. Hi there

    Awesome post, just want to say thanks for the share

  2. Fantastic blog! I actually love how it is easy on my eyes as well as the information are well written. I am wondering how I can be notified whenever a new post has been made. I have subscribed to your rss feed which should do the trick! Have a nice day!

  3. I voted for you 🙂 I LOVE the giant chocolate bar too. Good luck int he competition!!!

    Shelly, Nibbles of Tidbits

  4. I like how honest you are. It’s a wonderful quality!

  5. Whoa! I was hooked at the sope 😉 Loved learning a bit about you…I hope your birthday wish comes, true…just voted for you!!!

  6. I had the same thoughts running in my head when I first learned about this contest. Great post, you got my vote, good luck!

  7. Loved reading your story! Just voted for you. Good luck! 🙂

  8. A really great entry post. Good luck too and see you in the next round fingers crossed!

  9. Loved the post, especially the picture with the shades! So glamorous when compared to the horrificly nerdy picture of me as a kid 🙂 You know you’ve got my vote 🙂

  10. Sent a happy ♥ vote your way. See you in round two!
    ~ Mary

    • Thanks so much and likewise! I’ll never forget your helpful tips when I first started posting on Foodbuzz 🙂

  11. This is such a great post! You definitely have star quality and a ton of talent. Good luck with the competition – and I Agree with Empty Nut Jar – the first picture alone should win it for you!

    PS – Thank you for saying I referred you to Examiner.com – so generous of you. I just checked out your articles and you are a great writer. I can’t wait to try some of the places you recommend!

    • Thank you so much Ameena and to everyone else for the encouragement. Your comments alone have made this an awesome experience!

  12. Great post! Very well put and fun to read 🙂 Good luck!!

  13. Awesome story! 🙂

  14. Hey, congratulations! You’re in too! Wishing you all the best and you definitely have my vote. Well, yesterday I was 50-50 when I wanted to press on the publish button. What the heck! No harm to try it, right? Should I wish both of us “break a leg”! ^_^ Enjoy your day.
    Best wishes, Kristy

  15. I’d vote for you just for the first pic alone 🙂

  16. Are you coming to the Festival in SF????

    • Yes! I missed it last year and was so bummed that I’m making it a priority to go this year. Are you going too?

  17. Hey Sarah, so glad to read about your aspirations and what makes you such great food blogger. I always enjoy your restaurant reviews, especially your trip to Paris awhile back, that was fun!

    Good luck in the competition!

    Bon appetit!
    =:~)

Comments are closed.

