Girls Night In with “The Jenny Chop”

While Sarah is Out and About exploring All Things Parisian, I decided to have a Girls-Night-In for the East Coast OC.  The last five weeks have been tough from a cooking standpoint, as I completely broke my finger and have been sporting casts, pins, wraps and bottles of various highly addictive narcotics that don’t seem to be helping in the least.  Cooking for ten is not top on my priority or capability list, so I called in for some assistance from my friend Tirrikah (another HCF).  She brought an amazing vegetable lasagna full of eggplant, broccoli, leeks, onions and zucchini that oozed of Alfredo goodness and parmesan cheese.  That’s what good friends do, right?

The Girls-Night-In Spread

 

For the salad, I made my staple…the “Jenny Chop.”  If you are ever in a hurry and want to serve a fresh salad that can also double as an entrée, this is the recipe for you.  It may change your life J  It is the perfect blend of sweet, spicy and savory.  It is easy to make and you will get a TON of compliments for your salad-making skills.  Truth is…most people overlook making a good salad, so this one really stands out!

The Jenny Chop

Here’s the recipe…and I am going to call out specific brands because BRANDS MATTER.  It is not “from scratch” like most of my recipes, but it is quick and easy.  Here you go Girls…the recipe you have all been waiting for…

JENNY CHOP (serves 6-8)

2 bags of Triple Hearts lettuce (finely chopped)

2 Hass avocados, chopped

1 cup of Craisins dried cranberries

1 cup of Almond Accents – Honey Roasted or Butter Toffee

4 oz. crumbled goat cheese

1 lb. large shrimp, peeled and deveined

Olive Oil

Emeril’s Original Essence

Newman’s Own Light Balsamic Vinaigrette

Heat 1/4 cup olive oil in a sauté pan.  The bottom of the pan should be completely covered in olive oil, so adjust accordingly.  Wash shrimp, dry and coat generously with Emeril’s Original Essence…BAM!  Sauté for just a few minutes, remove from the heat and set the pan aside.  The spicy olive oil will serve as the base of your dressing.   Toss the lettuce, avocado, cranberries and almonds.  Add shrimp and oil from the pan.  Add the goat cheese.  If more dressing is needed, top off with Newman’s Own Light Balsamic Vinaigrette.  If you like toppings as much as I do, get creative!  You may want to add another texture or flavor to the mix such as grape tomatoes, blueberries, cucumbers, bacon crumbles, etc.  If you don’t like goat cheese, feel free to substitute bleu cheese or feta.  Make it your own creation…but it will always be called the Jenny Chop 😉

Some of the Girls-Night-In Gals

For a quick and easy dessert idea that can be passed around the table while the Girls chat, check out the AWESOME cheeseball  mixes I discovered when visiting The Biltmore Estate in Asheville, North Carolina.  http://shop.biltmore.com/browse.cfm/2,22.html    Try the White Chocolate Cherry, Tiramisu or Key Lime mixed with Low Fat Cream Cheese and serve with animal crackers.  It is a low fat indulgence that is FUN and easy to eat. Beware…these dips are ADDICTIVE and animal crackers during dessert may generate some chuckles!

Bookmark and Share

7 Responses

  1. Well done with a hurt hand!

    I love the salad and thank you for your brand info. This is real life and if you think it works I want to know it. Some people on the other hand…

    Jason

  2. When I read Jenny Chop, I thought was something like a pork chop. Your salad is much more appealing than any pork chop. Good luck with your broken finger.

  3. It was wonderful and so easy to make, Jenn is a terrific cook and this is such a great salad, my husband who doesn’t eat salad or so i thought said last night you have to get that recipe.. so i did. Thanks
    5 stars

    • Thanks Nancy…glad Troy liked the salad…it is one of Scott’s favorite things to eat and it is quick & easy!

  4. I am going to make your salad! It sounds like a nice combo and calls for things I typically have handy.

  5. What a wonderful evening…I’m sorry to hear about your finger though. I sliced my thumb pretty badly last year and it made cooking so much more difficult. Your salad looks great!

  6. The salad looks tasty! Thanks for the link to the cheeseball mixes. They sound good as well.

Comments are closed.

