Staying Fit On The Road

I don’t know about you, but when traveling my exercise routine used to pretty much go out the window.  Combine that with a love – ok, obsession – with good (read decadent and calorie laden) food and a devil may care attitude toward calorie content when dining out and you have the potential for waistline disaster on the road. 

As the 1-2 pounds put on during a work trip or vacation don’t come off as easily anymore, I know I have to get more serious about exercising on the road.  To that end I’ve had two mainstays: hotel gyms and 24Hour Fitness. 

I bought my 24Hour Fitness membership back in the day when you could get the “any club” membership reasonably, and I generally only use it when traveling.  There’s a 24Hour by my office in Orange County and my office in Santa Rosa, making exercise on office visits possible, though not always probable.

When 24 Hour isn’t available (like in Indianapolis) – and sometimes even when it is – the hotel gym is my default.  Every one has a treadmill and that’s enough for me.

Yesterday, I slept in a bit too late and so headed to the hotel gym instead of 24Hour.  Every piece of cardio equipment was taken.  What?!  This is pretty much unheard of and given my time constraints put me in a serious jam.  I headed back to my room, figuring I would try to fit in a workout after dinner (yeah, right) and then I remembered the Shape Magazine Travelista iPhone app.

I read about the app in the magazine a month or so ago, paid the $2 fee, and downloaded it.  It then proceeded to remain on my phone unused.  The app contains 8 workouts including a “No-Machine Calorie Burner,” “Tube Toners” (for those smart enough to carry an exercise tube in their suitcase) and 3 “Hotel-Room Shape Up” routines. 

I chose “Hotel-Room Shape Up 1” expecting a mild routine of chair dips and lunges – the usual exercises one resorts to in a hotel room.  It kicked my butt.

The workout consisted of 3 circuits of 10-15 reps of 8 moves that together, target every main muscle group.  The standard chair dips, lunges, crunches and pushups are present, but there’s also some creative moves like triceps extensions with water bottles for weights and a one-leg plank that keeps you in position so long your arms start to wobble.  By the end of the second circuit my heart was pumping and I was starting to “glisten” (women never sweat).  By the end of the third and final circuit my arms were shaking.  This morning?  Sore, in all the right ways.

When I ended the workout, I tapped the “complete” button and discovered a nice little bonus feature.  The app tracks your time (30 mins 7 secs for my workout) and saves it for you with the workout name, time and date, so you can have an on-the-road exercise log. 

The Shape Travelista app is now a solid addition to my road warrior workout routine, adding in strength training in the convenience of any hotel room. 

What do you do to stay fit on the road?

10 Responses

  1. A good way to ensure a great hotel gym is to check out http://www.HotelGymReview.com before you leave for your next trip. Also be sure to write reviews about the facility. We’re a new website so we really need people to write reviews.

    Thanks!

  2. Wow, that 24-hour fitness thing sounds amazing.

  3. Usually walk as much as possible…But mostly I am feeling guilty just reading this:)

  4. I try and do some sit-ups which watching trashy reality TV in the hotel room. And I do a drive-by of the hotel gym and am always pleased it’s there but I rarely use it 🙂

  5. You’ve given some great advice here! A few months back, when my husband I spent a long weekend in Vegas and were expected to pay extra to use the hotel gym (what?!?!) we created our own stairmaster work out in by heading up and down the flights of stairs in the hotel. I was definitely sore the next day!

  6. You’re so good, but yes, we don’t burn off as quickly anymore. =) Walking and walking and walking to see the new place is always my default…and excuse to find good desserts.

  7. That app seems so great! I try to explore the area by running, or doing just making it a strength week and doing lots of strength exercises.

  8. Yes, definitely walking as much as possible! Also, I try to so some lunges in my hotel room and if I’m feeling extra ambitious, maybe some push-ups and sit-ups 🙂 I’m also a fellow back-in-the-day 24 hour member!

  9. When I travel, I try to walk everywhere. When we were in NYC we logged 10-15 miles a day! But when I am in an unwalkable city, I try to hit the hotel gym before breakfast.

Comments are closed.

