The New Meaning of Celebrity

While strolling along the track on race day at the Indy 500, we had the chance to encounter quite a few “celebrities.”

Do you know who these people are?

Mystery Celebrity No. 1

Mystery Celebs 2 and 3

Mystery Celebs 4 and 5

I’ll give you a few hints.  Mystery Celebs 1, 4 and 5 are reality show “stars.”   Mystery Celebs 2 and 3 were in the movie “The Hurt Locker.”

Now, I don’t know about you, but I count Mystery Celebs 2 and 3 as people who have earned their celebrity status.  The unpictured celebs on race day who I did recognize – Mark Wahlberg and Jack Nicholson – certainly fall into this category.  These are people who have excelled in their chosen, public fields, at least enough to get recognized. 

But 1, 4 and 5? 

I’m embarrassed that I recognized 4 and 5, even though I’ve only watched one episode of that show and only because I was transfixed, just as someone watching a train wreck might be – you want to look away but somehow you just can’t.  But does being a train wreck on tv qualify you as a celebrity? Note to Paris Hilton.

More importantly, do we want to send the message that you can achieve celebrity status and all the perks that go with it by behaving badly in life if you can just get it captured on tv? 

How far removed are we from the world of “The Running Man” where the highest rated television show is one in which convicts are hunted down by celebrity assassins in costumes and people make bets on which one will kill the convict first or if the convict will prevail?  (If you haven’t seen “The Running Man” – an early Schwarzenegger classic – it’s worth a rental just to see where our reality show mania could lead).

What are your thoughts? 

Have reality shows gone too far or are they just harmless entertainment? 

Are there more doing good (I have to admit, I am a fan of “What Not to Wear”) than harm? 

Will the members of Jersey Shore and Housewifes of New York, New Jersey, and the OC dictate how the next generation behaves?

Celeb identities to be revealed this weekend – if you haven’t guessed already 😉

Bookmark and Share

2 Responses

  1. I don’t own a television..so I’m sunk on this! But I imagine like anything there are a few quality shows and a lot of trash

  2. I know the first one! I don’t really watch reality TV though, so I can’t recognize celebrities 4 & 5. Reality TV just doesn’t do it for me, I need more substance than just relationships and stories of people. I have my own life, thankyouverymuch 🙂

Comments are closed.

