Oatmeal Before Yoga Is Not A Good Idea

While still a yoga novice, I’ve practiced pilates for over a year, so I know the standard admonition not to eat anything 2 hours before class. 

Friday night I made plans to meet a friend at the 9 am Hot Hatha class Saturday morning.  Since I usually don’t get around to eating breakfast until 10 or 11 am – I would just eat after class, no need to wake early to eat something.  Saturday morning I woke at the unbelievable hour of 6:45 am even though I hadn’t fallen asleep until well after 2 am (I was reading a really good book and couldn’t put it down).  I awoke, ravenous.

Dilemma: To eat or not to eat?  (And yes, “that is the question” is running through my head right now.)  If I didn’t eat, I might not make it through the 1 1/2 hour class.  Plus, I was going to the Mariners’ game after yoga so I would be rushed after class showering and getting to the game making food impossible until 1:30-2:00 pm.  I decided to eat.

I had some oatmeal in the fridge that just needed to be microwaved.  Add some fruit, nuts, eat – no time at all, right?  I could be finished almost 2 hours before class, no worries.

Naturally, it didn’t work out that way. By the time I finished eating it was 8 am – 1 hour til class.  Still, I thought I was probably ok.

I was wrong I started class fine, moving through the opening forward folds, inhalations and eventually the more demanding standing poses.  By the time we reached dancer’s pose, however, my food was lodged in my chest.  It stayed there, making me queasy and uncomfortable throughout the remaining hour of class.  I shudder to think what might have happened if I hadn’t had at least that 1 hour to partially digest . . .

So today I’m eating my oatmeal with blueberries and walnuts 2+ hours before class.  I learn from my mistakes.  Well, some of them anyway 😉

Bookmark and Share

5 Responses

  1. I’ve found that the only thing I can stomach a hour before class is a fruit smoothie or a banana…something easy to digest.

  2. I don’t do those yoga and pilates (maybe someday!).. But the good thing about your experience is that you learn…u save yourself from experiencing it in future by figuring what works now 🙂

  3. I’ve made the same mistake. I took an evening yoga class and ate a huge dinner before my first session. I was not a happy yogi! Now I eat a light snack an hour before, and then eat a larger meal later in the evening.

  4. I’m sorry to hear that the oatmeal didn’t sit well in your stomach. Yoga is just too hard on my body in general and has been known to make my stomach upset so easily.

    • It is amazing how crazy it makes your digestive system – a lot of that is supposed to be good, but I’m definitely never eating that close to class again!

Comments are closed.

