5 Great Things About Seattle

With it being overcast and grey and threatening to rain yet again today, I’m reminding myself of the things I like about Seattle.   The weather is not one of them.  In no particular order, here are my top 5:

Marionberry Shortcake, Steelhead Diner Style

Marionberry Shortcake, Steelhead Diner Style

1.  The Restaurants: Palace Kitchen, Steelhead Diner, Bastille, Zoe, Matt’s in the Market, Eva, the list of small, innovative, and consistently just downright good restaurants makes Seattle a mecca for anyone who loves food.  If you like sustainable, local food, we have many restaurants that cater to that too.  Vegan?  Yep.  We even have our own vegan Donut shop (Mighty O).Pike Place Market 

Pike Place Market 

2. Pike Place Market: Fresh from the farm or the sea 7 days a week?  That’s what I call a farmers’ market. 

 3.  The Space Needle: Touristy, obvious, I know, but I have an attraction to large buildings designed for World’s Fairs.  And really, is there anyone who doesn’t secretly love a restaurant that spins?

Seattle Space Needle 

4.  The water.  Looking out at the ferries on the Puget Sound, boating in the summer (when we can find a friend to take us out),  having a glass of wine on a deck overlooking the water – beautiful, peaceful, so relaxing – especially with the wine 😉

Puget Sound

5.  The Cultural Scene:  Theater, Opera, Ballet, Symphony, Film Festivals, Architectural Tours, Museums: Seattle has them all, giving you a lot options beyond dinner and a movie. 

Bookmark and Share

4 Responses

  1. What a great list! Definitely agree with Pike Place and the restaurants (I went to a vegan Asian place this summer on Capitol Hill called “In the Bowl”; I would take a trip back to Seattle just for the food – it was some of the BEST Asian food that I’ve ever had in my life).
    I also love all the parks in Seattle.

  2. I love the donuts from Pike Place. Oh, and those funny sticks of flavored honey. Two solid reasons to move to Seattle 🙂

  3. Nice post. So funny — I always hear about the rain in Seattle…like Vancouver’s reputation I suppose.

    Ever see the episode on Frasier…Frasier complains on his radio show about the rotten, dreary “seattle weather” and how depressing it is…he ends up offending so many people bcuz of it…loved that show 🙂

    • I loved Frasier too. It is amazing how some Seattleites are in serious denial about the weather 😉

Comments are closed.

