A Week Without Sugar: What I Learned

My week without sugar challenge has finally come to an end.  I made it all the way through with only 1 tiny slip-up in the form of a total 1/2 teaspoon of honey I ate with some amazing cheese at Matt’s at the Market Friday night, before remembering that I wasn’t supposed to be eating sugar.  Woops! So I have to give myself an A- on the challenge 😉 

For anyone thinking of engaging in something similar, here’s what I learned:

  • I thought about sugar, and chocolate specifically, 40 times more than I do when sugar is not forbidden.
  • I experienced low energy the afternoon of the second day of the challenge, which was not cool.
  • I did not lose a single pound, probably because instead of satisfying my craving for a little piece of dark chocolate or a cookie, I compensated with allowed items like fruit (including dried apricots – DANGER, DANGER) and low-fat cheese.

My take-away.  I seriously doubt I’m a sugar addict since I didn’t get the DTs or any other horrifying withdrawal symptoms.  That said, forbidding any food – sugar, carbs, fat, whatever – just makes you want it more.  You’re better off satisfying your craving in moderation because if you don’t you’ll eat twice as much trying to get rid of it with something else.  The French way really is the best way: Eat good, wholesome food in moderation.

Bookmark and Share

10 Responses

  1. I like your summary and totally agree about everything in moderation. But sometimes it’s so hard! Fruit is the best form of sugar, but a few cookies now and then are always welcome, too 🙂

  2. Wow…no sugar. You’re my hero. I was thinking of doing something like this, but with no weight loss as a result, I’ll pass. I still superimpressed that you did it.

  3. totally agree… eat good wholesome good and everything in moderation!

  4. Giving up sugar for a week is a great idea! I always see people aiming for several months and I immediately think, “I couldn’t do that.” I might give this a try though. I agree with your take home messages – forbidding anything is asking for trouble, moderation is key.

  5. I love the way you write in this post. So real and cool.
    I would never be able to go sugar-free.
    I love me my sugar, maple syrup, stevia, and not to mention the stuff in goods bought, etc! Cocoa and chocolate too ..yum…

    as for moderation i agree with u there..deprivation will lead to cravings (at least for me)…i still tend to do the over-board thing though….moderation for me is nonexistent..over-doing it is my habit …oye 🙂

  6. I’m having a very difficult time getting off sugar as well. I’m sure that I’m going to DT if I go completely off…the reason you didn’t, is that you allowed yourself fruit! Sugar is sugar to the body, regardless of what form it comes in….
    Next time try not having ANY sugar, and see how you feel.

    I’m not sure I could ever deprive myself of dark chocolate!

    Chef Chuck 🙂

    Awesome blog!

    • Thanks, Chef Chuck! I agree with you re sugar is sugar. My nutritionist allowed me fruit so I took that lifeboat 😉 Don’t think I would have made it without it.

  7. There’s no way I could give up sugar in my morning coffee. I figure I don’t have many vices so if coffee with cream and sugar is the worst of it, I’m ok. Props to you for taking on this challenge 🙂

  8. Congratulations on finishing! Wonder what a month would do?

Comments are closed.

