Sugar Withdrawal

 My nutritionist suspects that I may have a slight sugar addiction.  She came to this conclusion when she read my food journal and noticed that I tend to eat sugar in the form of cookie dough, cookies or chocolate 3 times a day.  Personally, as it’s usually small amounts, I don’t see why that’s a problem.

But, I’m a sucker for a challenge, so when she asked me to commit to a personal challenge and swear off all “obvious” sugar for a week, I said ok.  What exactly does this mean, you ask?  No sugar, no honey, no desserts, no foods in which sugar is higher than 5th in the ingredient list – goodbye Kashi Go Lean Crunch – no sucrose, no sugar alcohols – goodbye gum – no artificial sweeteners.  Fructose, in the form of whole or dried fruit is allowed.  THANK GOODNESS!

To be honest, I really didn’t think this was going to be very hard and yesterday went off without a hitch.  I did eat a bit too much dried fruit, i.e. 10 WHOLE DRIED APRICOTS (which is 2 serv. by the way), but, c’est la vie.

Today is a different story.  Around 3pm I hit low-energy.  I haven’t had that happen in years.  As I had a lunch of leftovers of Milanese chicken, a little mashed potatoes and green beans for lunch there was no excuse for it.  Hmmm, as visions of chocolate danced through my head . . . I blamed the lack of sugar! 

My old afternoon energy crash cure used to be a can of regular coke – yes, regular coke.  Not an option today.  So, in order to remedy this tragedy, I set off to Organic to Go and scored the last fruit cup of the day (at half-off no less).

Organic to Go Fruit Cup

Organic to Go to the Rescue!

Strawberries, pineapple, and grapes, oh my!  Did it help?  Yes, yes indeed.

Bookmark and Share

5 Responses

  1. So it’s not normal to eat dessert after every meal? Darn. I’m totally addicted. I think the only reason I don’t quit it is because I don’t want to ruin my marriage. And if I quit sugar, you can bet my crankiness would be the end of it! 🙂

    Good luck with it! Maybe it will get easier.

  2. I think I would’ve caved the very first day. Fruit at least makes it bearable I suppose! But, you can do it- good luck!

  3. Great for you to go with fruit – but I understand about the addiction. Keep up the great work!

  4. LOL…..glad to see you found something to stave off the sugar cravings…..
    I don’t know if you saw the movie Michael,(john Travolta played the Arch Angel) but he did have one line in it where he was talking to the dog, and he told him ……”no matter what they tell you , you can never have too much sugar”
    I think you should find something your nutritionist loves and make her stop for a week!!
    Hope your week goes better!

    Dennis

  5. oh no girl!
    no sugar?

    i would be in trouble….i dont have that willpower 😉

    maybe you can use stevia…cocoa powder ??? these things might help u out.
    fruit is good for natural sugars…but i think some maple syrup must still be in your life, etc!
    Try not to be too tough 🙂

Comments are closed.

