Birthdays and Bucket Lists

Yesterday was Jim’s b’day.  Unlike me, Jim is not a b’day fan.  While I like being Queen for a Day, he wants his birthday low-key and to forget it’s happening (although he’s fine celebrating after the usual day).  So, for once, I put my extravaganza b’day style aside and did it his way. 

At 6pm I met him at his office and we walked to dinner – which he had resisted all day.  He thought I was planning dinner at the type of fine dining establishment I enjoy.  Nope, this was is day.  We walked a mile into the Regrade and into Two Bells, a bar with some of the best burgers in the city and one of Jim’s all-time favs.  Two Bells is one of the things I love about Seattle, it’s a little bit divey but with good service, good food, a great beer selection, and then a surprise of upscaleness with contemporary art on the walls and a decent wine list.  In other words a mix of contrasts that just works.

As happens most times when we go out, we ran into some people Jim knew.  After our respective meals, we shared a table for a drink and the talk turned to birthdays and eventually bucket lists.  Neither Jim nor I have official bucket lists- way too young for that obviously 😉 – but lately we seem to have engaged in quite a few bucket list activities:  the Indy 500, US Open (tennis), Winter Olympics, and India.  Oh, and I was fortunate enough to grab tickets for Game 7 of the World Series in 2002 when the Angels took down the Giants.

What’s next?  Egypt is a frontrunner on my list and Derby is on Jim’s.  We also want to do all the Grand Slams – Wimbledon, French Open, Australian Open – with Wimbledon probably being the next.  Jim wants to do the summer Olympics in Rio in 2016.  I want to safari in Africa and do the Basic Cuisine class at Le Cordon Bleu in Paris.  Hmmm . . . maybe we should start a list.  Will it all happen?  I don’t know.  I think part of the fun of the bucket list is having something to shoot for – adding more things every time you cross off something on your list.  Enriching your life as much as possible be it through big things or little things.

Do you have a bucket list (official or otherwise)?  If yes, what’s on yours?

Bookmark and Share

One Response

  1. Happy birthday Jim.
    And yeah, I am jealous…all that stuff..and U.S. Open Tennis..that woiuld be incredible…

    i suppose i would have a HUGE bucket list…right now, just trying to survive each day…chat soon…so fogged with stuff now!

Comments are closed.

