Dieting Revelations

 
 

The Dreaded Scale

The Dreaded Scale

 Confession:

  • My entry into dieting was at 13. 
  •  By age 14, I knew how to drop 5 pounds in 3 days by eating nothing but apples, oranges, and 3 eggs per day.
  • At age 15 I tried my first liquid diet – I lasted 5 days before the nuns at my boarding school found out and made all of us on the “diet” eat solid food.
  • I’m 5 ft. 7 1/2 inches tall and yet, even at 115-120 lbs I was rarely 100% happy with my figure.
  • The best I ever looked was my last year in college.  I weighed 127 lbs (my highest weight in college ), worked out 2+ hours a day and when I walked nothing jiggled.  Was I happy with my body?  HELL yeah!  I was totally stoked! 
The Good Ole Days

The Good Ole Days

Eating problem, you ask?  No.  I hate throwing up, so never fell in the bulimia trap, I never had the self-discipline to be anorexic and I’ve always been to lazy to be exercise bulimic.  The formative years of my life were in the body obsessed 80s, a time before people were told that you’re beautiful no matter what your size, etc.  It was the time of Cindy Crawford, Christie Brinkley, Claudia Schiffer, and Kelly LeBrock.  These women weren’t heroine thin – they were HOT!  And for a girl with a fast metabolism and an hourglass figure, their look was almost obtainable. So for the past X no. of years I’ve watched my weight, dieted when necessary and always known the calories of most foods I ate, even when not paying attention.  

In recent years, I’ve battled against metabolism slowdown, read nutrition and health info. nonstop, flirted with different exercise regimes and most recently, consulted with a nutritionist. 

But you know what?  I’m tired of always thinking about food.  I’m exhausted by not eating when I’m hungry.  In other words, I’m OVER IT.  

Here’s what I’ve learned.  I hope it will help fast-track your own learning process if you find yourself stuck in similar patterns: 

  • Staying thin is a life-long endeavor.  You cannot diet down to a weight and stay there if you revert to your old eating habits.  Sad but true.
  • Moderation really is key.
  • Tune in to your body.  If you’re hungry eat.  If you’re not hungry, stop eating.  It doesn’t matter that you still have 4 forkfuls of the best chocolate cake ever on your plate – just STOP.
  • Get rid of the junk food.  It isn’t helping your weight or your overall health.  There really is a difference between good and bad calories.  In other words, read labels and if there is anything on the ingredient list you can’t define – skip it.
  • Ditch the splenda, the equal, the sweet-n-low, the sugar free gum, the aspartame.  Artificial sweeteners can actually make you hungry because they are sweeter than sugar.  Be like the French, sugar in moderation defined by the easily measurable sugar cube.  Ditch the sugar “grains.”
  • Eating should be pleasurable, not stress-inducing.
  • EXERCISE.  Thin, fat or somewhere in between, if we want to live long we need to exercise and that means cardio and strength training.  Find several things you love and mix it up.  For me this means, tennis, pilates, hot yoga and maybe taking up ballet again someday soon.
  • Get out there and live life.  I don’t know about you, but food rarely enters my thoughts when I’m walking on the beach, biking on the boardwalk or checking out the latest festival or play in my neighborhood.  The opposite holds true when I’m hanging out at home. 

Any other suggestions?  Please share so we can all learn from each other. 

So, I have a new focus these days and new goals: 

  • Exercise for heart health, muscle tone and flexibility.  You know, things that will help me live a long and active life.
  • Eat for nourishment and health.  As natural and organic as possible and fine-tuned for the health issues I already have (slight anemia and low Vitamin D).  So yes, I’ll still be working on getting in those veggies.
  • Listen to my body.  Stop eating when I’m not hungry, eat when I am.  Yep, this is the KISS (keep it simple stupid) method.

I’ll keep you posted on how it goes and any discoveries along the away.  And as a parting note, I just have to say THERE ARE THINGS THAT TASTE AS GOOD AS THIN FEELS! 

  

 

Bookmark and Share

4 Responses

  1. I agree – wait to be hungry before eating, then stop eating when you’re politely full. Dieting has never made sense to me. Just the word itself connotes pain, misery, and deprivation. That’s bound to lead to a boomerang of indulgence and bloating.

    One thing to add to the exercise routine – some impact. It creates bone density. That doesn’t sound important now, but it becomes so important as you age.

  2. Amen! I don’t know what can get us to that state of mind except maybe the ability to reflect on our experiences and decide what it really means. I know women much older than I who still obsess about their weight.

  3. great post sarah.

  4. Here are a few tips from our Eat To Live lifestyle:

    You can eat all the fresh or cooked vegetables and greens you can stomach, as long as there is no added salt, oil, or dairy. Same for fresh fruit, you can eat all the fresh fruit you want without worry. Beans, you can eat as much cooked beans as you wish as long as there is no added oil, salt or dairy as well. No starving at all and in 3 weeks I have lost 8.5 pounds.

    Exercise at least 30 minutes a day. No gym, just a good pair of walking/running shoes, walk around the neighborhood every day, and also do gardening in the yard as often as possible.

    Bon appetite!
    CCR
    =:~)

Comments are closed.

