Take Me Out To The Ballgame . . .

 

Cashew Chicken
Yes, You Can Get Thai at the Ballpark.

 I don’t know about you, but baseball season to me means: sunny afternoons, the lazy days of summer, hot roasted peanuts, and . . . Thai food. 

As there is nothing I love more than a mid-week night out, last Wednesday night, Jim and I headed down to Safeco Field for our first Mariners game of the season (the home opener was Monday, April 5). From our offices, the stadium is an easy 1.7 miles away. Walking there and back is a great way to pre-walk off some of that ballpark food, mingle with the crowds, and let baseball fever wash over us. 

Safeco Field, View From My Phone

Safeco Field, View From My Phone

We arrived early so I decided to re-familiarize myself with food options while Jim stood in line for his first Fat Tire of the season. The choices were many: the classic hot dogs of course, brats, BBQ, pizza, Mexican, and some local favs like Kidd Valley hamburgers and Ivar’s clam chowder and infamous garlic fries (you do not want to be downwind from these).  But this is Seattle, so also available was Rice n’ Roll sushi, Terriyaki Bowl, and Thai Ginger.  

With sneaking some veggies in on my agenda, I happily scoped out an old fav, Thai Ginger.  On offer?  Beef and broccoli, Cashew chicken loaded with peppers and onions, and Veg Phad Thai.  I knew where I was heading at the bottom of the third. 

Jim and I headed into our seats with our respective beverages (beer for him, water for me), obtained our traditional roasted peanuts from one of the shrieking vendors and settled in for what turned out to be a really good game.  It was the first time I watched Chone Figgins as a Mariner.  He was a favorite when I lived in the OC and went to Angels games and he did not disappoint.  Speaking of which, they will always be the Anaheim Angels, not the “Los Angeles Angels of Anaheim” – so LAME and insulting to those living in the OC.  When that special change was made, Jim and I used to comment that next we would have the “Los Angeles Mariners of Seattle” and the “Los Angeles Rangers of Texas” and for good measure the “Los Angeles A’s of Oakland.” 

At the bottom of the third it was Thai Ginger time and I snuck in some ballpark exercise by taking the stairs from the 300 level to the 100 level where Thai Ginger and its giant wok resides.  I settled on cashew chicken (pictured above) and managed to sneak in 1 entire cup of veggies with my choice.  At the bottom of the 7th, Jim went in search of and found his favorite ballgame treat now that malteds have disappeared (criminal really) – vanilla soft serve.  I’m a mixed girl personally, so I stole a few bites but wasn’t that tempted. 

Overall, our ballpark outing yielded a 3.4 mile walk, some stair exercise, a cup of veggies for me and an awesome time watching the Mariners beat the As, 4-2.  Can’t wait to do it again – bring on SUMMER!

Bookmark and Share

3 Responses

  1. If I saw a Thai place inside Fenway, I think I’d faint. Not going to hold my breath for that one. That’s so cool that you have so many options at a baseball game in Seattle!

  2. Wow – when I lived in Seattle, I went to two Mariners games and had a great time! The big treat then (no Thai Ginger, this was 10 years ago or so) was the salmon burger. Such a Seattle “fixture”. I’ve never seen salmon burgers on the menu in other baseball parks.
    The Thai Ginger options sound great!

  3. It really is spring! Can’t believe the Mariners are gearing up again. Way to be healthy attending a natl sporting event, btw. Most people gorge on nachos and roll from the car to the bleachers; takes real initiative to do all that exercise too!

Comments are closed.

