Celebrating Little Victories

With no tennis on tap for today and the Top Pot Doughnut 5K a mere 11 days away, it was time to hit the dreadmill.  So, I rolled out of bed, pulled on yoga pants, a smash-your-boobs-into a uniboob sports bra (HATE these), socks and a tee, brushed my teeth, put my hair in a ponytail and with Nike runners and iPod in hand headed to  . . . . the basement.  Yes, it’s a far commute, I know 😉

For those of you who hate the dreadmill as much as I do, here’s a tip: I purchased an iplus last month and it helps make the dreadmill more bearable.  It tracks your distance, time, pace, plays your music and gives you frequent (but not too frequent) “1 K completed” or “10 minutes left” type encouragement.  It recites your stats to you at the end of your workout and you can upload your data online and challenge friends or join challenges.  I have a feeling it’s also more accurate than my home treadmill as far as distance and calorie burn. 

I started my 35 minutes off with walking at a 4.0 then 4.2 then 4.4 mile pace for the first 5 minutes.  Next, it was time to try to run.  I’ve said it before, and I’ll say it again, I am not a runner.  Never have been, ever, not even when a child.  My childhood days were filled with tap, jazz and ballet classes, not running or team sports.  Nonetheless, you can run 3 miles much faster than you can walk it which means less time on the dreadmill for the same calorie burn – good enough inspiration for me. 

Today I had 3 small victories on the dreadmill:  (1) I ran for 7 whole minutes straight, beating my last personal best of 6 (doesn’t sound like much I know, but it’s a big deal for me); (2) I ran for a total of 15 minutes, which is 1/2 of the workout subtracting out the 5 minute warm-up/cooldown time; and (3) my overall pace for the entire workout running/walking/warm-up and cooldown combined was an 11.42 min. mile, another personal best.

Those little victories got my day off to a great start and tonight I’m doing some more celebrating my going on a date with my husband to our first Mariners game of the season.  Oh, and did I mention that the sun is out?

Bookmark and Share

