A Review and Giveaway of “Petite Anglaise” by Catherine Sanderson

Petite Anglaise

Petite Anglaise by Catherine Sanderson

While in Vancouver, I made a run to Chapters and picked up some light vacation reading.  One of the books was Catherine Sanderson’s debut novel, Petite Anglaise.  My feelings about this book are conflicting

Petite Anglaise is a memoir written by the blogger of the same name; a Brit living in Paris.  The story tracks her launch of her very personal blog and the path it takes her on – out of an unhappy 8-year relationship with the father of her toddler daughter and into the arms of one of her blog’s readers.  Only it seems that he is in love with “Petite Anglaise,” not Catherine.  The story rockets through Catherine’s personal highs and lows and ends in a good place.

Sounds pretty good, right?  So why my conflict?  Well, because by the middle of the book, interesting story aside, I just didn’t like her.  She was needy, self-centered, self-absorbed and just plain weak.  It was all about a man, ALL THE TIME.  She was the girl I never want to be, personified. But, she did pose some interesting insights and thought-provoking questions about bloggers:  Do bloggers become too self-centered?  Do our lives become “all about the blog”?  Do we live our lives, in part, to please our readers?     

I want to know what you think.  So, I’m giving away my copy of Petite Anglaise.  To enter, just leave a comment below by midnight Pacific Time next Friday, March 12th.

9 Responses

  1. i actually love all your posting choice, very useful.
    don’t quit and keep writing since it simply just nicely to read it.
    looking forward to view more and more of your own content, goodbye 😉

  2. Please count me in…would love to read this..thanks ~ 🙂

  3. Have fun in Portland, I too have a best friend there and do not get down as often as I should! Maybe I will call her and set a date, hope you have sun in your day….RaeDi

  4. This is such a good post. I love books.
    I wonder sometimes too…like sometimes i get into “week long + ” funks where I end up talking all about my sadness, etc…and it draws me into “that”…
    I think sometimes it is NOT good…cause i recognize it in others also….this degree of being so …self-absorbed…know what i mean? Not that the person is intentionally that way…jsut normal to get caught up like that…
    Interesting question though for sure.
    Love this post Sarah.

  5. Your post made me laugh out loud! How many many times have I picked up chick lit and this is my biggest complaint! It really pisses me off – especially if it is otherwise a good story! Of course my blogging is all about me – but it’s about me and food, which for me is sometimes a tumultuous, but ultimately satisfying relationship! 🙂

  6. Sounds interesting:) Sometimes I try something new just so I can talk about it on the blog, but most of the time it’s a benefi to me like a new workout, yummy food creations, etc.

  7. I’ve never really thought of personal blogging as self centered, but I think it can definitely get to be that way. I think that might be why I do a review blog, rather than a personal one, I don’t like to talk too much about myself. Great site, I’d be interested in reading the book.

  8. Yes yes yes and more yes. I have to evaluate my purpose behind my blogging. It ends up being a mean dirty monster at times. Reevaluating ever so often works in order to bring balance.

Comments are closed.

