Oh no! It’s Girl Scout Cookie Time!

Girl Scout Cookie Favorites

Girl Scout Cookie Favorites

 

I have a love/hate relationship with Girl Scout Cookies.  I love them because they’re so good and I hate them . . . because they’re so good.  Ok, that’s not exactly true.  There is nothing exceptional about a Girl Scout cookie.  In fact, I hold the cookies I bake to a much higher standard.  And yet, Girl Scout cookies are strangely addictive . . . like those tins of butter cookies that always surface around Christmas.  I try to exercise control and stick within the designated serving size but, it’s a useless exercise.  

Why?  Is it the fact that they are only available for a short time each year? (Like Cadbury Cream Eggs, another favorite.)  Is it nostalgia?   

On Sunday, Jim and I stopped into QFC to pick up some wine we had just sampled and there it was, right in front of the door – the table.  Trefoils, Do-Si-Dos, Samoas and Thin Mints stared at us, as did the smiling Girl Scout, who was after all, just harmlessly selling cookies to get herself to camp.  Ha!  I know a pusher when I see one!  She sensed our addiction, she played on it with her smiles and subtle straightening of the boxes of Thin Mints.  We were no match for such sly maneuvering.  We caved quickly and bought 3 boxes, 1 each of Do-Si-Dos, Samoas and Thin Mints. 

Hours later, after an extremely healthy meal of pizza, the first boxes were opened.  I sampled the Do-Si-Dos, Jim devoured the entire box of Samoas.  Tonight the Thin Mints were breached.  I suspect all 3 boxes will be gone by the weekend, just in time for weekly grocery shopping, the favorite hangout spot of the cookie pushers.  I’m considering giving up grocery shopping – can we make it through Girl Scout cookie season by living on take-out?  Just how long does this madness last anyway? 

Are Jim and I alone in this addiction or are you a victim too?  Which Girl Scout cookie tempts you?

5 Responses

  1. Girl Scout cookies make everyone happy. I bought 38 boxes this year. That made the Girl Scout Happy. I sent them to friends who work at our corporate office and I give them to clients when they visit. People light up and become little kids around Girl Scout Cookies and they are for a good cause. Buy and share with others.

  2. I bought a couple of boxes of thin mints the other day, but they’re nearly gone. I really just wanted to crush them up in a thick Kidd Valley banana shake…

  3. Ha! I bought 3 boxes as well this weekend…thin mints, samoas and tagalongs! I stashed them in the freezer so they are out of sight. I’ve only had 2 so far!!!

  4. Thin mints are my favorite, but the Samoas come in very close. You are right, a love – hate relationship indeed.

Comments are closed.

