Vancouver, Extremes on Ice: USA Hockey and Men’s Figure Skating

It was a jam-packed day on the ice today.  With USA victories and disappointments.

But, I’m getting ahead of myself.  Yesterday, I took advantage of the lululemon and YYoga gift of yoga and tried my first hot yoga class.  The great thing about vacation is I end up walking around like mad.  The down side is low back and shoulder pain.  Enter hot yoga.  All the aches from the previous days were erased.  So today, I headed back for more.  Another instructor and another great class.  I think I might be hooked.

After hot yoga and a quick shower it was off to hockey – USA v. Switzerland.  The energy of the crowd was awesome!  USA beat Switzerland 3-1.  GO USA! 

USA v. Switzerland

USA v. Switzerland

We were double booked today so we rushed from the USA hockey win across town to the Pacific Coliseum for Men’s Short Program Figure Skating.  30 of the best skaters in the world on the first leg of their race to the gold.  There were some pretty phenomenal performances and it was really cool seeing the up and comers who will likely be the medalists in 2014. 

Johnny Weir at the Olympics

Johnny Weir at the Olympics

But let me just say, Johnny Weir was robbed.  His performance wa soooo much better than his score.  And I’m not alone in that thought – the crowd booed his score – loudly.

Ditto on Evan Lysacek.  His performance was flawless and super strong, he should have scored number 1, not 2.   Still, it was an amazing event and we saw so many really incredible performances.

Off to bed now for an early start to see Colbert tape, then off for more hockey – Finland v. Bellaruse – and rounding out the day with some more “house” sight-seeing and dinner at Maenam, a NY Times pick Thai restaurant.

3 Responses

  1. Lysacek got gold 🙂
    Yay…
    I am canadian…but still excited for him!

  2. Too bad the video is not available now. IOC has long arms it seems!

    CCR
    =:~)

    • I know! I had no idea that video would be an issue – it’s all of 10 seconds and doesn’t show play!

Comments are closed.

