Why Do We So Quickly Fail To Keep Our New Year’s Resolutions?

So, January is officially over, and it’s time to assess how I’ve done on my New Year’s resolutions so far.  Since the Candida Diet scuttled my dietary resolutions, I’m focusing on the others: Fitness, French and Spirit.

Fitness

My fitness goal was to exercise 5 days per week.  In January that means I should have worked in about 21 workouts.  I managed 19.  Not bad, but not the goal, and the slide this first week of February is noticeable (I’ve only worked out once, tennis tonight will bring it to twice).  I’ve discovered a few things that should help me get back on track: (1) I hate waking up at 6 am to work out; (2) if I have a lesson I will go; (3) if it’s fun I will go; and (4) I can think up 4000 things to do to avoid the dreadmill!  So, I’ve formed a plan of attack.  For the next 6-week round of tennis lessons I signed up for 3 lessons per week.  Add in my once per week pilates session and I’m now up to 4 days per week of built-in scheduled exercise.  That leaves one day for me to self-motivate, hopefully I can manage.

French

My goal was thirty minutes of French via Rosetta Stone or some other medium 30 minutes per day, every day.  Hmmm, yeah, that didn’t happen.  I managed only 14 and hardly ever for 30 full minutes.  Maybe my goal was unrealistic?  Maybe I’m just lazy?  Maybe life gets in the way?  Probably, all the above.  So, I’m going to revise this goal to 5 days per week for at least 15 minutes.  I’m going to Paris in July (a 60th birthday present to my mom), so I definitely have some motivation!

Spirit

My goal was to do something to give back or connect with others be it family, friends or strangers, every day.  I managed about 20.  By joining the Race for the Cure committee (for the second year now) and heading up Social Media, I’ve guaranteed success on the giving back front.  I need to work on the connecting with family and friends, though.  So often, I let the bussiness of the day get in the way and the only people I end up connecting with are colleagues and Jim.  I need to make more of an effort to carve out time for friends and family.

So, if this were a report card, I’d say I probably earned a B- overall (that darn French!).  I’m hoping to improve in February and get a gold star by the end of the year 😉

How are you doing on your resolutions?

One Response

  1. Sarah, I think you did amazing. The thing with resolutions is that you AIM for 100%…and by aiming that high u can at least guarantee to make it 50% of the way…
    if u only aimed low-low…u might not even get past the first step!
    I admire your fitness tremendously….and your spirit…well, just having met u and reading your posts, I think u have a lot…u give to people every time u engage in great conversation!

Comments are closed.

