Why Buy Cashew Butter When It’s So Easy to Make?

Cashew Butter Ingredients

Cashew Butter Ingredients

As peanut butter is banned on the Candida Diet, and almond butter is questionable (although that sure hasn’t stopped me), I’ve found myself seeking out cashew butter.  It turns out to be somewhat difficult to find.  Safeway?  No.  QFC?  No.  Trader Joe’s?  No.  Whole Foods?  Yes, at $15 for a small jar.  H*** no! 

Turns out, I needn’t have bothered because cashew butter is embarrassingly easy to make.  My first try turned out delish and took me under 5 minutes.  I’m never buying cashew butter again.

Cashew Butter

(Modified from a recipe by Emeril Lagasse)

  • 1 cup unsalted cashews (I like Trader Joe’s roasted and unsalted cashew pieces);
  • 1 cup salted cashews (again, I prefer TJ’s cashew pieces.  If you want less salt you can use unsalted cashews and salt to taste);
  • 3 TBSP Vegetable Oil

Pour all ingredients into a blender or food processor.  Blend on high (I used the liquify setting on my blender) for approximately 30 seconds.  Use a rubber spatula to scrape the sides of the blender, put the lid back on and blend on high until it reaches desired consistency (you may have to stop and scrape the sides a few times), approximately 2-3 minutes.  Taste and add salt if desired.  That’s it.  Seriously.

Yield approximately, 1 cup.  Store in an airtight container.  Enjoy!

Homemade Cashew Butter

Homemade Cashew Butter

P.S.  When I spell/grammar checked this, it derided my choice of the word “approximately” as a “complex expression” and suggested “about” instead.  Really?  Really?

6 Responses

  1. We can get cashew butter at our health food store but it is in tiny jars and sooo expensive. Also, I am not 100% sure if I am remembering this right, but the last time I made cashew butter I used peanut oil, partly for taste, but partly because I needed a lot less of it. But now that I think about it that’s probably not allowed on your diet 😦

  2. Wow, so simple. Thanks for sharing!

  3. Looks like some great cashew butter there! Just need some toasted bread now!

  4. Nice and simple and so tasty…. Thanks!

  5. Wow…looks great. I buy cashew butter …LOVE LOVE it….dont have a food processor…dont have much patience either…but I know making things is WAY cheaper…I dont know….I buy now anyway 🙂

Comments are closed.

