Candida Diet Day 6: Losing All Interest In Food

Maybe I’m a wimp, but I’m not taking well to the Candida Diet.  Yes, you can eat all the protein (aka meat) and veggies you want but I’m a grain girl, and brown rice alone doesn’t cut it. 

Maybe its genetic.  My sister Jen, (who’s thin and toned and doesn’t need to diet) tried Atkins a few months ago – she lasted a day. She only made it that long by having inner dialogues with herself of “Fatty, you don’t need a roll.  Really fatty?  Are you that dependent on croissants?”  I feel the same way – without the “Fatty” dialogue, of course.  I haven’t buckled and returned to my normal lifestyle of bread, pasta, couscous, cheese, chocolate and wine, but I want to.  I want to be able to come home and cook up whatever strikes me.  I want to be able to accept invitations out to dinner instead of pushing them off until February.  And I want to stop dreading that rumbling in my stomach that means I need to eat. 

In just 6 days the Candida Diet has turned me from a food lover to a meal time dreader.  For one, I’m tired, really tired.  I’m also busy at work.  I don’t have the time, energy or desire to grill up a steak, bake up some fish or grill a chicken breast when I get home at 7 or later.  I want a 10 minute pasta or Pagliacci Pizza (something I rarely eat but have been craving like mad).  Heck, at this point, a bowl of cereal would be a relief! 

To make matters worse, even though I’m living on 1500 calories or less a day – I’ve gained 1/2 a pound.  So, I don’t even have the motivation of losing weight to push me through the next two or more weeks.

I will continue to persevere.  I will try to think of things I can cook in large batches over the weekend that will take me through the work week.  I will try not to cry when I have to face another brown rice, chicken and veg dinner or lentil soup lunch.  I will try to stop craving jam.

13 Responses

  1. Wow – I’m on week 4 of the candida diet and struggling with keeping up with the meals and cooking. I run my own business, have 3 kids and after work run kids around all evening. Coming home at 7 pm to make a “healthy” dinner sucks! I went to a hypnotherapist to help with the sugar cravings – but I am still dreaming of pastries. When I was diagnosed with candida in November, I opted to wait until after the holidays to start the cleanse. But I still kind of dieted because I was afraid to eat sugar or bread. As a result – I lost 6 pound before I even went on the diet. The funniest thing for me is that I don’t want to loose weight (I’m 95 pounds – regularly around 104) so I am stuffing brown rice crackers (Sesmark brand – very good) all day to keep up my weight. I’m starting to really feel crappy. I have discovered a wonderful yeast free, wheat and sugar free bread that is very satisfying with almond butter on it. French Meadow bakery – at health food stores in the frozen section. Make sure you get the Rye on – they have 4 kinds – it has saved me!
    Anyway, day 22 and I feel crappy. I didn’t even feel this badly before I was diagnosed.

    • Thanks for the bread tip and so nice to hear I’m not going nuts. I’m in the middle of week three and while my sinuses are better, I’m really irritable! And yes, it is such a pain trying to make dinner at 7 (the usual time I can get to it after work, etc.). Hope you feel better soon! I’m going back to the naturopath on Feb 2, so we’ll see if I’m cleared to go back to a normal diet or not. Here’s hoping.

      • Love your photo! I went to the grocery store yesterday and turned my head past the bakery section (I usually don’t even care about baked goods – but right now they sound fab). It sounds like you are doing much better – I really think keeping a positive attitude is the key here – and very hard to do! Good luck – I’m right along with you!

  2. Stop the diet. It is something you will never be able to maintain. Cut the meds and come to norcal to detox for awhile. You realize that after you are totured with this they then will tell you you are glucose intolerent or lactose intolerent or…food intolerent

    I have a new diet called “The Sonoma Diet”. A few days at the Sonoma Spa coupled with cheese and wine. The alcohol kills the yeast.

    Goodbye Candida, Hello California.

  3. I’m on a high protein diet because I follow Jillian Michaels’ recommendations for me. 50:30:20 protein:carbs:fat. I’ve only been doing this for a week but have no cravings, which indicates it’s the right diet for me. My point is, however, it’s all biological—sometimes people do well on low-carb and sometimes not. Since yours is doc recommended for health reasons, perhaps you should look at your constraints as a way to inspire you to try new flavors 🙂

  4. I’m sorry to hear what you’re going through. I hope that this candida diet would work already. I will try and read your previous post. But just hang in there.

  5. Gosh girl…I feel bad for you. So this is for allergy and asthma? Are your entirely sure that diet is the answer? Sometimes putting worry, stress, thought into food and situations can actually work against a persons digestion and gut flow. Food ought to be tasted and enjoyed and not over-thought.
    But hey, people have legit issues too…so if this is something serious I wish you lots of luck.
    Wish I could send you some pizza and stuff 🙂
    You cannot even have cereal? Yipes…this is severe. I will try to think of some possible creative recipes for ya.

  6. Your body is just getting used to the changes in diet…it will pass (i hope sooner rather than later!)

  7. Why are you doing this? I missed the beginning of this tale.

    • Hi Carol:

      Due to allergy and recently diagnosed asthma (last May) I am on 6+ medications a day including a daily low-dose antibiotic and I still don’t feel 100%. Looking for a different approach, I went to a naturopath and he put me on this diet. The goal is to be able to reduce meds down to 2-3.

  8. Sorry to hear about the struggles on the diet, we’ve all been through diets before. You’ve made it to day 6 so far, you can do it.

  9. Been there… done that… still trying to figure out a resolution sadly.

Comments are closed.

