Tuesday Treat: “Cooking & Screaming” by Adrienne Kane

Cooking & Screaming

Cooking & Screaming

If you know Adrienne Kane, you likely know her from her blog Nosheteria.  What you may not know is that Adrienne Kane was just about to graduate from UC Berkeley as an English major (and dance major?  not clear) when she suffered a major stroke.  The stroke was caused by an “AVM”;” basically a slight brain malformation that burst.  That bursting caused a stroke which left Adrienne with complete paralysis of her right side and speech and cognition deficits. 

Cooking and Screaming: Finding My Own Recipe for Recovery is Adrienne’s memoir of pulling her life together following her stroke.  As the title implies, outside of therapists and doctors’ offices, Adrienne turned to cooking to reclaim her life and guide her recovery.  She found solace in the everyday comforts of food, the smells, the texture . . . the produce!  She found reward in her increasing ability to cook; from at first just chopping an onion to making and creating complete meals, catering and eventually writing a cookbook.   

Every chapter begins with a recipe and then the part of the story tied to that recipe unfolds.  The recipes range from Bolognese sauce to sage and parmesan popcorn and all look straightforward and delicious.

“Cooking & Screaming” is an inspiring and captivating story of a young woman who used a huge obstacle to discover a triumphant career in food writing , photography, recipe developing and of course, blogging.  For anyone struggling, this is a book that will inspire and motivate you.  For those already happy and content, this is a great read with some drool-inducing recipes.

10 Responses

  1. […] A few days ago a book review came across my desk via Social Media. If you know Adrienne Kane, you likely know her from her blog Nosheteria. What you may not know is that Adrienne Kane was just about to graduate from UC Berkeley as an English major (and dance major? not clear) when she suffered a major stroke. The stroke was caused by an “AVM”; basically a slight brain malformation that burst. That bursting caused a stroke which left Adrienne with complete paralysis of her right side and speech and cognition deficits. oc2seattle […]

  2. I’ve shared this post on Stumble Upon and have gotten many positive responses from fellow SU friends. You may be getting some extra traffic your way because of the share.

    Thanks again,
    CCR
    =:~)

  3. Dear OC 2 Seattle, I really like your post about Adrienne. I saw a documentary about her when I was living in California.

    Also, your site was such a pleasure to visit. Well presented, clean, clear and beautiful photos. I shall be returning for another delicious bite. Thank you for sharing.
    Cheers, Gaby
    You can visit me at http://ptsaldari.posterous.com

  4. This sounds like a very interesting book. Thanks for posting this.

  5. This sounds like a very interesting book. Thanks for the post.

  6. for years,for long time i know that cooking /but eating too/its the Best therapy ever…

  7. Oh now this is quite inspiring indeed! I always wonder what I would do if suffering from a similar situation, and now I have the answer. Just cook!
    Culinary yours,
    CCR
    =:~)

  8. Nice post and book review! I will definitely take a look at the book. I guess I hadn’t looked at cooking/baking that way, but it really is a sort of therapy or solace when you need it. =)

  9. Sweet blog. I always admire people like AK who can survive (and thrive) after such an episode. Thanks for making her book accessible.
    Speaking of thriving and surviving, I hope you’re dealing okay with our wonderful Seattle weather. It’s been a while for me, but I remember the first couple winters here were real bummers. How to deal with it: go skiing! Travel if you can. Turn on lots of lights. Visit sunny websites. Good luck!

    • Thanks! I think I’ve finally reached the point where I just accept the grey and rain (although my sister thinks I should get a sun light!). That said, I’m heading to Palm Springs for a few days the beginning of April to get some sun 😉

Comments are closed.

