New Year, New Goals: 2010 “Resolutions”

I am super inconsistent with regards to making New Year’s resolutions.  I am consistent about breaking them when I do make them, however.  This year is going to be different, though, I can just feel it 😉

I’ll need your help in the upcoming year to be accountable so, so here are my 2010 Resolutions:

Mind

LEARN FRENCH!  I have been to France, no joke, five times.  Ironically, I never traveled to France when I was actually learning French in college (that would have been too easy).  I brush up before trips and learn just enough to be dangerous but not enough to converse (I can state what I want or ask a question but when the response comes, forget about it).  For my Mom’s milestone b’day last year, I gave her a trip to Paris with me and my sis Kate (I used mileage for our tickets and know people with a dream of an apartment in the St Germain De Pres area) – we go in July.  So, my 2010 goal is to be at least semi-fluent by the time we leave.  I’ve had Rosetta Stone for 1 1/2 years – now I just have to DO IT!  30 minutes per day.

Fitness

Loads of goals here:

1.  Exercise 5 days per week – no excuses.  I’ve set myself up for success on this goal by making a standing pilates appointment one day per week and tennis lessons one other day per week.  Now I just have to do something about those other 3 days.

2.  Run in the Puget Sound Race for a Cure 5k in June.

3.  Run/walk Seattle Half-Marathon in November.

4.  Yoga, at least one day per week, preferably two.

Nutrition

Since getting married and moving to Seattle my diet has changed.  While some change has been good (more whole foods and food from sustainable sources), some hasn’t and I’m pretty sure is the culprit of my 16 lb weight gain (yep, gained 2 lbs over the holidays).  So here are my nutrition goals (I’m seeing a Naturapath on the 7th, so this could change even more):

1.  Eat less meat.  Reduce meat (pork, beef, chicken) consumption to 2 times per week max.

2.  Eat less cheese.  Goodbye triple cream brie.  I will still enjoy you when eating out, but you are no longer welcome in my home except on special occasions.

3.  Eat more fish, especially fish rich in omega-3s.  Is it salmon season yet?

4.  Drink less.  Those glasses of wine add up to major calories.  I love the wine, but not the weight, so no more than 4 glasses per week.

Basically, I’m aiming for a predominantly lacto-ovo pescetarian diet, light on the saturated fats and consisting as much as possible from organic, sustainable (non-industrial) foods.

Health

If you add up all the weeks I was sick in 2009 it, no joke, was about 5 months and then on top of that, I was in a car accident.  While I’m feeling much better these days (apart from a light cold), I am on 6 medications each and every day for my allergy/asthma, etc. and have to go to massage therapy every other week because I’m still having back and neck issues from the car accident.  I’m not a fan of being on so many pills and I still don’t feel 100%.  This year, no matter what it takes, I want to get my health under control and reduce my meds.  My first step towards this goal is to meet with a highly recommended Naturapath on January 7. 

Things I’ve Been Wanting to Do But Have Put Off

 1.  Start taking ballet classes.  I danced for many years and have been sorely missing it.  As the Pacific Northwest Ballet offers classes in Seattle, I think I’m out of excuses.

2.  Aerial ballet.  I’ve wanted to try this ever since Tomb Raider came out.  There’s a place in town that offers lessons.  As soon as my back is stronger, it’s time to finally try it.

Spirit

This goal is a bit abstract at the moment.  But basically I want to give back more, spend more time with family and friends and take time to appreciate them each and every day.

So that’s my list, what’s on yours?

7 Responses

  1. Just found your blog so I’m a little late to this post. But if you ever need some help with learning French, I wouldn’t mind the opportunity to brush up on mine! I was fluent at one time in my life and find it comes back pretty easily when I practice.

    Cheers!

  2. These are some great resolutions! Good luck with the French! You can do it!

    And yoru running goals are fun too! I have to say I don’t think I will do the Seattle Half this year…but you will do great! It is a great race and very well supported! There were porta-potties and water stations every single mile!

    And Ballet sounds so amazing! I can’t wait to follow you throughout 2010!
    Amanda

  3. Good luck! How’s the running going?

  4. Happy New Year! Good luck with your goals 🙂

  5. Good for you taking controlmind body and soul!! I’m going to be in Seattle in June maybe wecan meet up!!

Comments are closed.

