Mom’s Molasses Cookies

Mom's Molasses Cookies

Mom's Molasses Cookies

The holiday countdown is on.  My Mom and Kate arrive Thursday afternoon and I still have to finish the grocery shopping (95% finished), finish wrapping presents (98% finished), get the guest rooms in order (held up by husband’s home improvement projects) and get all the cookie doughs ready for baking on Thursday night.  That last one I started on yesterday.   

I’ve picked four cookies for the holidays.  Kate’s favorite – Chocolate Comfort Cookies from Diane Mott Davidson’s book “The Grilling Season” – is on the list.  My husband’s Christmas standard, sugar cookies.  A new Chocolate-Hazelnut Thumbprint recipe from Cooking Light.  And last, but definitely not least, an all around favorite (and my personal favorite), my Mom’s molasses cookies.

Mom’s molasses cookies are a great offset to chocolate and sugar cookies, are fast, easy, and just downright good (I sometimes get caught eating them for breakfast). 

Mom’s Molasses Cookies

  •  1 c. sugar
  • 3/4 c. butter (softened – do not melt)
  • 1 egg
  • 1/4 c. molasses (I use dark, but you can use light if you prefer)
  • 2 tsp. baking soda
  • 1 tsp. ground cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 1/2 tsp. ground cloves
  • 1/2 tsp. ground ginger
  • 2 c. unbleached all-purpose flour

Preheat oven to 375 degrees.

Combine sugar and butter in a medium bowl and mix on low-speed until blended (creamed).  Mix in egg and molasses to sugar mixture until blended.  Add the remaining ingredients and mix until blended.

Drop by the spoonful (or use a cookie dough scoop) on a nonstick baking sheet (I prefer Williams Sonoma’s nonstick goldtouch cookie sheets – they’re a little pricy, but I’ve had mine for three years and they work perfectly, no sticking, no mess and just a wipe down to clean).  I put 6-9 cookies per sheet.

My sis Kate disagrees with this drop cookie method, she says the cookies should be shaped into balls, rolled in sugar and then baked.  I think they’re great either way.

Bake at 375 degrees for 8 minutes.  Makes about 24 cookies, depending on size.

Let the baking begin!

5 Responses

  1. This cookies looks great.

  2. Oh do these cookies look really good! Perfect holiday cookie indeed!

  3. Hey there,
    Great recipe. And thanks for the comment on my blog – I am gonna follows yours much more.

  4. Don’t you just love the holidays? It must be nice to have family come in from out of town. I just recently baked with molasses for the first time and it was quite sticky! But the flavors are pretty amazing. Your mom’s Molasses cookies must make the whole house smell so yummy. Have a great holiday season!

  5. yum! these sound sooo good!

Comments are closed.

