Tuesday Treat: Pears, Pears, Pears

Comice Pear

Comice Pear

 I have a confession to make.  I used to be wary of buying any pears that weren’t of the canned variety.  My caution wasn’t baseless.  It seemed that every time I bought a fresh pear I either ended up with a tasteless rock hard specimen or an overripe mushy mess.  I never could find that perfect stage of ripeness  – juicy yet firm enough not to mush to bits.  Canned was safer.

Jerzy Boyz Farm changed my canned pear ways.  I discovered Jerzy Boyz Farm at the University Farmers Market a few weeks ago when I was looking for apples.  While perusing my apple choices I was asked if I would like to sample a comice pear.  I did.  The taste was everything that a pear should be, sweet with a hint of winter warmth and at the perfect stage of ripeness.  I bought two.  When I got home I put them in the fruit bowl and waited.  I tried the first one that night – a bit too hard. but still flavorful.  The one I tried the next day made me say goodbye to canned pears forever.  In a word, it was perfect.I’ve since tried purple goddess pears, which I love having with morning oatmeal and even given Bartletts another try.  I’ve also picked up some ripening tips. 

Purple Goddess Pear

Purple Goddess Pear

How to tell if a pear is ripe: Check the neck.  Apply gentle pressure to the neck of the pear with your thumb.  If it yields to the pressure the pear is ready to be eaten.

How to Ripen Your Pears: Just leave them out at room temperature and check them every day.  If you want to speed up the process put them next to bananas which naturally give off ethylene to help speed up the ripening process.

How to Slow Down Ripening: Bought to many pears to eat at one time?  Put them in the refrigerator and pull out the amount you want to eat a day or two before.  Refrigeration slows down the ripening process put it doesn’t stop it so this trick will only work for four or five days.

Nothing says summer in winter like fresh pears, making them a perfect Tuesday Treat.  At an average of 81 calories, .1 grams of fat and 4.3 grams of fiber per pear, this is one Tuesday Treat you can indulge in as long as pears are in season.

4 Responses

  1. I love pan roasted pears, finished with a bit of balsamic vinegar in a green salad with a bit of blue cheese. mmmmmmmmmm

  2. Thanks for posting, I’ve also had pear angst at times. It seems they are at perfect ripeness for about 2 hours. The refrigerator trick and the banana trick are really good to know.

  3. Very good advise on ripening pears… So glad you are a pear aficionado now… They are gems!

    And I wish you could taste the little “Poire William” that are grown in France… You would be in “pear heaven”!

Comments are closed.

