A Day To Myself – Kind Of

Yesterday, while everyone was hanging out with friends and family and stuffing themselves with turkey and pie, I took a day off – it was exactly what I needed. 

I started my day with a sleep in, waking up at 9:30.  Plenty of time to catch the 11 am yoga class at the gym, if it wasn’t cancelled.  What I hadn’t factored in was that the time could change, so when I called at 9:45 to make sure the class was still on, I discovered it had started at 9:15.  Bummer.  So instead of heading off to yoga, I did what I never get to do – I read the paper, the morning it was delivered!  This is big because my husband usually wakes up and leaves the house around 5 am every morning and TAKES THE PAPER WITH HIM.  So I often get the paper at night or days later (depending on when he brings it in from the car), usually after I’ve read most things online anyway.

After the paper, I chatted with my husband on the phone while making some green tea and oatmeal (I cheated and used Trader Joe’s instant cinnamon and spice – sooo good).  Then the texts and phone calls started from friends and family.  My sister, Jennifer, got me motivated to start my Christmas shopping and in a few hours I had presents for my sister Jennifer and her husband, Dave, my nephew Jack and my Dad all ordered and shipped – thank you Macy’s and Amazon!  I also picked up a few small things for my husband and one of his daughters.  Tomorrow I plan to get more serious and dive into Black Friday downtown – Nordstrom, Macy’s and Barnes and Noble are on my list.  Pike Place Market will be heaven for stocking stuffers, but for edibles, I’m waiting til a day or two before.

I started getting hungry around 1:30 and decided to try out a Shape Magazine recipe I had been eyeing – corn chowder for only 178 cal a cup.  Per my sister’s request I videotaped the experience with my Vado HD.  The soup, however, was a serious disappointment, so I won’t waste your time with video.  Thin and watery does not a chowder make.  Maybe it will thicken in the fridge and upon reheating?  Doubtful, but I’ll try that before I throw it out.  Bottom line: chowder is not supposed to be low-fat. 

As yoga hadn’t happened, a workout was in order – I spent 45 minutes on the treadmill while gaining inspiration from the fantastic shape Angelina Jolie is in, in Tomb Raider. 

Afterwards, it was nearing dinner so I tried out a recipe for Butternut Gruyère pasta – it turned out pretty well, but at 2 hours to make, it’s quite a commitment.  The pasta, coupled with Murphy-Goode’s Fume, was my Thanksgiving entree.  Followed by a truly guilty and embarrassing indulgence, Ocean Spray’s cranberry sauce (not the whole berry, the molded kind) – this has been a Thanksgiving staple in my family for years as has the running joke about how long it took us to mold it just so.  I had the pumpkin spice bars I made Weds night for dessert.  All in all a satisfying meal with a few less calories than the traditional Thanksgiving dinner.

I followed dinner, with a favorite movie, The Mummy.  You may be thinking – The Mummy?  Seriously?  All I can say is men take note, Brendan Fraser’s character in The Mummy (1 and 2 only, 3 was a disaster) is the ideal man.  Strong, courageous, smart enough, and super supportive of his uber-smart woman.  If you follow his lead, you will go far.

After The Mummy, a long hot bath and then bed. 

What did I learn on my day away from the holidays?  When you think you need R&R, take it.  Also, it is next to impossible to be “alone” on a holiday.  I spent 40% of my day fielding texts and calls from friends and family.  And you know what, that’s not a bad thing 🙂

2 Responses

  1. I slept in yesterday too and spent the day “alone” with my husband …. it was so nice!

  2. Sounds like a nice day…IMO

Comments are closed.

