Eating and Touristing in La La Land

Inverted Fountain

Inverted Fountain

My husband and I spent the past weekend in LA.  Our last day was spent soaking up the sun and exploring Sunset and Santa Monica.  We got a late start and headed up to Sunset Plaza.  We stopped for brunch at Le Petit Four, a few doors down from Chin Chin, a favorite of mine when I lived in LA years ago. 

Le Petit Four offered great food and entertaining people watching/unintentional eavesdropping.  We dined al fresco – a treat for us in November as we’re already wearing boots and scarfs in Seattle.   I had an incredible Quiche Lorraine with apple-wood smoked bacon and Emmenthal cheese while listening to three men in their late 50s/early 60s kevetch about how they thought their 30-year old dates were only using them to be taken out on expensive dates – you think?  And how many girls who said they were “actresses” were actually hookers.  I had trouble hiding my giggle when I heard that piece of news.  I don’t think these men were asking out high-power career women.  What do you think?

After brunch, we headed back to UCLA, so Kate could give us a campus tour.  Beautiful just about sums it up.  But mix in a little quirkiness like the “Inverted Fountain”, a “South Campus” (science and math) landmark. 

After UCLA, we decided to continue our touristing and hit Santa Monica.  We headed to the Third Street Promenade and the Pier.  At the Pier, we rode the carousel, one that still has wooden horses, because you know I can’t pass up an amusement park classic!  I also made one final stop at the Coffee Bean for another tea latte favorite, Apricot Ceylon. 

Santa Monica Carousel

Santa Monica Carousel

Then we headed to the original Border Grill for some green tamales, tortilla soup, and Pescadero Vera Cruz. My green corn tamales were sweet and delicious and the spiciness of the tortilla soup was a perfect contrast.  We jetted back to UCLA to drop of my sis after dinner and raced to the airport to make our flight.  It was a great weekend, spent with family, friends and much needed sun exposure.

One Response

  1. Funny post, it is indeed lalaland! Glad you enjoyed yourself, it is an entertaining place but I am glad I don’t live there!

Comments are closed.

