Tuesday Treat: Pot de Creme, Chocolate Body Cream

Sweet Beauty pot de creme

Sweet Beauty pot de creme

Reading books such as “Ecological Intelligence” by Daniel Goleman and “Animal, Vegetable, Mineral” by Barbara Kingsolver has made me pay more attention to what I buy and from where.  Skin Deep is a database that rates the relative safety of shampoo, soap, lotion, cosmetics and other skin, nail and baby care items by assessing the chemicals that are in them and those chemicals’ known effects.  The ratings are on a scale of 0-10: 0-2 low hazard, 3-6 moderate hazard, 7-10 high hazard.   When I first plugged my favorite shampoos and conditioners into the database they all had scores of 9.  While there isn’t yet any evidence of a person dying from their shampoo – I switched to Avalon Organics with a rating of 3 – I’d rather be safe than sorry. 

Luckily, I don’t have to worry about one of my favorite treats: Sweet Beauty’s pot de creme, organic chocolate body cream.  Sweet Beauty’s pot de creme is a rich, smooth, creamy, ultra moisturizing body cream made from Theo’s organic fair trade chocolate and other natural ingredients.  It smells like chocolate, is paraben free, moisturizes your skin without being greasy and will not harm you if you accidentally eat it.  It scores a 2 (low hazard) on the Skin Deep rating. 

I love Sweet Beauty products because they smell and feel indulgent, have creative scents such as Mojito and Tangerine Truffle and are made in Seattle.  You can buy Sweet Beauty products at Whole Foods or on Sweet Beauty’s website.  The Pot de Creme is a small indulgence at $20.00 (one “fun coupon”) that will keep you feeling like you’re living a life of luxury every time you put it on.

