Almost Instant Indian Feast

TJ's Punjab Spinach Sauce

TJ's Punjab Spinach Sauce

Yesterday was one of those days.  I ate breakfast and lunch at my desk and when I finally packed it in at 7:00 p.m., I was beat.  While I love to cook, I had no energy to make an all out meal and I didn’t want to resort to take-out yet again.  Enter Trader Joe’s

I always keep several jars of Trader Joe’s simmer sauces on hand (Indian and Italian).  I also had their Dal Makhani (basically just lentils and spices) and frozen garlic naan.  Add two chicken breasts I already had defrosted in the refrigerator (I buy them frozen in bulk at Costco for just these occasions) and I had an almost instant Indian feast.

I recruited my husband to cut up the chicken, then I set the front burner on the stove to medium, got out a frying pan added Trader Joe’s Punjab Spinach Sauce, 1/2 cup water (the TJ’s instructions say 8 oz but it makes the sauce to soupy for me).  Next, in went the chicken.  Cover and walk away for 15-20 minutes.  Just enough time to get the rice cooker going (I love my gadgets).  Spray the rice cooker with olive oil, add 2 cups water and 1 cup basmati rice, press cook and walk away.

Next I set the oven to 400 and while it heated, the rice cooked and the chicken simmered, I opened a bottle of Murphy-Goode Reserve Fume and started to unwind while going through the mail – it was an all magazine day – hurrah!   

After about 15 minutes, when the sauce had simmered down to the thicker consistency my husband and I like,  I took the Dal out of its package, put it in a bowl and zapped it in the microwave for 2 minutes.  My husband claims TJ’s Dal is the best he’s had outside of India and he could be right.  While the Dal heated up, I put the naan in the oven for 2 minutes.

When the two minutes were up, it was time to serve.  Basmati rice down on the plate first, chicken with Punjab Spinach Sauce on top, garlic naan on a side plate and Dal in side bowls, glasses of Reserve Fume to complete the meal.   The Punjab Spinach Sauce had a mild spice and was really hearty.  The Dal was spicy and just plain good.  The garlic naan tasted like it had just been made from scratch.  A real, healthy meal (lots of protein, some veggies) in 20 mins start to finish.  Thank you TJ’s!

Chicken with Punjab Spinach Sauce and Basmati Rice

Chicken with Punjab Spinach Sauce and Basmati Rice

