Hangin With Foodies

Last night I attended the Foodbuzz Visa Signature dinner at Spring Hill restaurant in West Seattle.  As anticipated, the food was divine.  The conversation, however, was the highlight.

When I entered the restaurant and shed my rain gear, I was immediately welcomed, shown where the real foodies were hanging out and handed a class of bubbly.  In short order, I met www.thegastrognome.wordpress.com, www.glutenfreetasteofhome.blogspot.com, and Alexa of www.foodbuzz.com.  The conversation of course centered on food but worked its way into travel while appetizers of house-made crackers and fois gras were passed around (and yes, these were soooo good).

Eventually we were talked into sitting down so the meal could commence and we spread out over three tables.  My table mates were Naomi aka  www.thegastrognome.wordpress.com,  Ryan aka www.thepinkspoon.typepad.com, Diana aka www.dianasaurdishes.com, Jack aka www.fifthflavorblogspot.com, and Frank aka www.goingforseconds.com.   A tasting of three shared appetizers (mussels, oysters, and a watercress salad) was served with a white wine pairing (I failed to reclaim my menu at the end of the night so I can’t be more specific, but Jack and Diana in particular were snapping photos like mad so details can likely be found on their blogs in much better prose than I can muster).  The oyster sopressata was highly recommended by Naomi and her recommendation was dead on.

Entrees featured a choice of Snake River Farm’s wagyu sirloin or black cod.  I went with the black cod and it was “like buttah.”  I also tasted Diana’s sirloin and it was delish – perfectly medium rare with a nice surprising spice on top.  A mellow red wine was paired with dinner – again no idea what it was. 

While we polished off our appetizers and entrees the conversation focused on food and food blogging.  Questions ranged from “How did you start blogging?” to “If you were celebrating a special occasion what one restaurant would you go to?”  (Sitka and Spruce was a favorite).  We also talked about the evolution of www.foodbuzz.com, the upcoming Foodbuzz Blogger Festival, favorite restaurants in San Francisco (the home of Foodbuzz) and favorite restaurants in Seattle.  I came away with a lot more knowledge and a list of great restaurants to try.

We wrapped up the night with dessert, a choice of huckleberry panna cotta or peanut butter crunch (a chocolate peanut butter spectacular), and more food talk.  Needless to say, I had a fab time and hope to reconnect with my tablemates soon.  I also will be taking my husband back to Spring Hill, because I know he will fall in love with the food.

For all you other food lovers, check out Foodbuzz (you can click the banner on the right).  In a nutshell, it’s a forum for food lovers who share recipes, restaurant reviews and recommendations, and food knowledge.  And of course, sign up for the Foodbuzz dinners if you can – I’m certainly glad I did.

10 Responses

  1. Hi Sarah! I was able to grab the menu from our dinner, I’ll list out the courses and pairing when I get home tonight.

    • Glad someone was on the ball! I remebered that I forgot to get a menu, when I was half way home of course 😉

  2. Hey Sarah,

    Great to meet you at the dinner! I finally got some of the pics up in case you want to see… http://tinyurl.com/yadtw6l.

    Take care!

  3. Ugh! I wish I could have made it! Damn class! Grrr!

  4. It was so much fun meeting you! I hope to get my photos from the nigh posted next week.

  5. It was fabulous – one of the many benefits of moving to rainy Seattle!

  6. Wow this sounds fabulous! And not going to lie – I’m a little jealous, I’d love to have a dinner like this around me!

  7. sounds like you had a great time meeting up with fellow foodies! the dessert also sounds scrumptious thanks for sharing with us

Comments are closed.

