On The Road Again: Unhealthy Dining Options At Every Turn

Just to be clear, as a general rule I love eating out – two to three meals a week.  Beyond that, I get pretty tired of trying to figure out where to go, what type of food I want, and how much time I can spend dining.  Plus, you can’t control the freshness and calories in restaurant and take-out food like you can at home and neither my body nor my waistline can handle a lot of grease and fat on a regular basis.  That said, I have zero willpower when yummy bad-for-you foods are involved.

I just spent eight days in New York, 24hours in Seattle for a concert, and am now in Orange County, California for work.  For all intents and purposes I’m in day 12 of eating out.  And after eight days spent in New York eating pizza (three times), bad Chinese food, good Thai food, hot dogs (Mets game and US Open), Italian and roast beef sandwiches (US Open options), Mexican (twice), and too many deli meals and desserts to count, I’m trying to turn things around and eat a bit healthier because my diet is giving me headaches and the jitters.  My willpower, however, is, as I’ve mentioned, not good.

For example, for breakfast I went with Yoplait pro-biotic yogurt and then foiled my good intentions with Cinnamon Toast Crunch and nonfat milk.  For lunch I had a grilled chicken, apple and cranberry salad and stripped the goodness of that away with a bag of trail mix two hours later and a package of Cheeze – its after that. 

I’m stuck working all night but managed to fit in a quick 2 sets of squats, sit-ups, push-ups, chair dips and plank which at least got my blood pumping.  I’m considering that my good-for-me deed of the day.

For dinner, I had an “all-natural” roasted turkey BLT and fruit from room service at the Westin in Costa Mesa.  I have to admit, it was pretty good.  The fruit, blueberries, cantaloupe, and honeydew, was fresh and unsweetened.  The bread for the BLT was multi-grain and toasted.  It was not adulterated with too many condiments.  I followed it up with 2 Fig Newtons and tea, but in the scheme of things that choice was probably not so bad. 

I’m want to try to make better choices tomorrow, but I already have a lunch date for In-N-Out and I head to my Mom’s tomorrow night which is an obstacle course of cookies, sugar cereal, and other bad-for-you snacks.  After all, this is the woman who fed us chocolate cake sometimes for breakfast because “it had eggs and stuff” – not that I ever complained.

So, my question to all you healthy eaters out there is, how do you resist or avoid temptation?

3 Responses

  1. I have walked a thousand miles in your mocassins. I check out the menus at hotels first. Pre-order egg whites with veggies and always a green salad for breakfast. I try to get as much healthy food into my diet at the hotel before the day begins and options become limited. I travel with raw almonds. When no healthy options available, I always take the top slice of bread off and sum mustard for mayo. As far as resisting temptation, that’s hard, especially on vacation!

  2. My husband and I used to practically get into knock-down drag outs on trips (that weren’t vacations in one spot). He didn’t want to spend a lot of money and time eating in regular restaurants all the time whereas I fought for that because at least there were more healthy options available. He was ready to pull into the nearest Arby’s, McDonalds, Carl’s Jr., you name it. Over time we finally came to a compromise, which was for me (concerned with healthy options) to pack some food along – like dried quinoa, yogurts, fruit, etc. Then when rushed he could duck into a fast food place and I would be ok. It works a little better this way but it takes some planning ahead on my part. That’s definitely a hard thing about extended trips – and you’re right – it’s HARD to resist all that temptation!

Comments are closed.

