Shopping in SoHo and Hello Kitty Cries

Hello Kitty Weeps

Hello Kitty Weeps

Riding the Toys R Us Ferris Wheel

Riding the Toys R Us Ferris Wheel

I was totally lazy this morning.  Instead of getting up early and working out I – wait for it – slept til noon.  I blame jetlag, yes indeed, that’s what it was – that and the fact that we didn’t get back from the Open and then to bed til 2 am in the morning.  Spent the first two hours of my “morning” lining up finals tickets for the US Open; a process that included my husband and I on our respective laptops (me in NYC, him in Seattle) perusing scalpers and Craig’s List while discussing via cell phone.  We finally scored tickets and then it was off to the ATM and then to Madison and 47th for the cash/ticket exchange.  The guy I bought the tickets from was really nice and very clean cut, but it still felt a bit like a drug deal. 

The deal done, Kate and I headed to SoHo for a little shopping.  Our first stop was Top Shop which Kate fell in love with in London.  It is not the same.  The clothes were funky to an extreme (sequin striped pink, white and grey mini-skirts anyone?) but also of really poor quality at not inexpensive prices.  Case in point, I found a cute sweater from the Kate Moss collection, $100 and the sweater was 71% acrylic, 29% cotton – ewwww – can you say itch????  It was so cute I tried it on anyway, but had to rip it off after about 20 seconds for fear of breaking out in hives.  Needless to say, we left empty handed.  We did much better at another of Kate’s favorite finds, Mango, a store started in Barcelona with fun, fresh and reasonably priced clothes.  Kate scored an adorable mini-dress and top and I picked up two cute tops (one which Kate has labeled the “boob top” because even though it buttons at the neck, it apparently really draws attention to your assets, but makes your waist look nonexistent) and a scarf. 

We popped in Dean and Deluca after for snacks as we hadn’t had lunch and it was 4pm.  I love Dean and Deluca.  So much gourmet yumminess.  We each got an empanada to snack on (Kate chose cheese, I chose chicken), some pasta salad for later and sour cream cheesecake and chocolate cake that only be described as chocolate heaven.  We then ducked under some scaffolding, perched  on the outside windowsill at Armani Exchange and devoured our empanadas. 

After our shopping adventures we headed to the Toys R Us in Times Square for a traditional ride on the indoor Ferris wheel.  After giving up the Barbie car to a little girl who really wanted it, we settled into the Toy Story car – so cheesy but so fun!

On our way back to our hotel we stumbled upon Lever House, which was surrounded by Hello Kitty statues.  Seriously.  I’m uploading photographic evidence because you gotta see it to believe it.  My favorite were the waterfall ones that made Hello Kitty look like she was crying as the water pours from her eyes – so f***ed up!  This was almost as disturbing as the Hello Kitty vibrator (yes, it exists), in fact I almost expected it to be part of the collection!

