MIA: Traditional Frozen Yogurt

While growing up in Southern California, the frozen yogurt phenomenon hit hard and has had remarkable staying power.  The near-constant warm weather and the Southern California obsession with being thin no doubt helped the many frozen yogurt shops take root (Golden Spoon has no less than 78 locations in Southern California).  The same does not appear to be true in Seattle.

Look, I am not a huge ice cream fan.  I enjoy a soft serve swirl on a sunny day at a Mariner’s game and used to indulge in Ben & Jerry’s Mint Chocolate Cookie on occasion, until, much to my waistband’s delight, it was discontinued.  But, I can pretty much take it or leave it because unlike say coconut cake with pineapple filling, to me, the taste does not trump the calorie and fat load.   

Frozen yogurt is different.  Maybe it’s the airiness that prevents it from sinking to the bottom of your stomach.  Maybe it’s the fact that 4 ounces is only between 100 and 116 calories so the guilt factor is gone.  I don’t know, but when it’s sunny I want frozen yogurt for dessert.  True Southern California style frozen yogurt, with flavor options like Cake Batter, Heath Bar, and Pecans & Pralines.  I cannot, however, find it in Seattle.  What gives?

It’s not like Seattle is a frozen yogurt wasteland.  Red Mango with their original (tasteless), green tea, pomegranate, and tangomonium flavors abound.  But I don’t want tart frozen yogurt – if I wanted tart I would have regular flavored real yogurt or SourPatch Kids or Sweettarts.  So, in June, I started web surfing for real frozen yogurt.  Every time I found a new spot, my hopes would rise and quickly fall when yelp.com revealed that the offerings at these faux frozen yogurt shops were “Hemp” or “Soy.”

Two months later I’m still SOL but remain dedicated to the cause.  My latest search revealed Shy Giant in Pike Place.  Most Seattleites seem disgusted by the “TCBY-esque” flavors – sounds like my kind of place.

